Arizona bill to exempt older vehicles from emissions tests considered by house

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA ACTION NETWORK
 
URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)

 
Bill to Exempt Older Vehicles from Emissions Tests to be Considered by Full Arizona House    
 
We’re almost there!  Having passed the House Environment and Rules Committees, legislation (S.B. 1324) to exempt all vehicles more than 25-years old from the state’s mandatory biennial emissions inspection program will now be considered by the full Arizona House of Representatives.  The bill was already passed by the Arizona Senate.   
 
We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Arizona House (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 1324
 
Existing law in Arizona only exempts pre-1967 model year vehicles and those vehicles designated as “collectible.”
 
·         Under Arizona law, a “collectible vehicle” is a vehicle that is at least fifteen years old or of a unique or rare design, of limited production and an object of curiosity.  Collectible vehicles must be maintained primarily for use in car club activities, exhibitions, parades or other functions of public interest and used only infrequently for other purposes and have a collectible vehicle or classic automobile insurance policy that restricts the collectible vehicle’s mileage and/or use to qualify for the current collectible vehicle emissions exemption. To qualify for the exemption, the owner must also own a secondary vehicle for general transportation.
 
S.B. 1324 provides for a rolling emissions inspection exemption that would exempt qualifying vehicles upon enactment and would pick up an additional model year for each year the law is in effect.  
 
S.B. 1324 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of older vehicles, such as the historic cars targeted for this exemption.   
 
S.B. 1324 recognizes that such vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained and infrequently operated.
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Arizona House immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 1324. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.
 
Arizona House of Representatives
 
To email all members of the Arizona House of Representatives, copy and paste the email address block below:
 
eableser@azleg.gov; kadams@azleg.gov; lalston@azleg.gov; barredondo@azleg.gov; cash@azleg.gov; bbarton@azleg.gov; kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov; jburges@azleg.gov; chcampbell@azleg.gov; hcarter@azleg.gov; tchabin@azleg.gov; scourt@azleg.gov; ccrandell@azleg.gov; jdial@azleg.gov; kfann@azleg.gov; sfarley@azleg.gov; efarnsworth@azleg.gov; jfillmore@azleg.gov; tforese@azleg.gov; rgallego@azleg.gov; sgonzales@azleg.gov; dgoodale@azleg.gov; dgowan@azleg.gov; rgray@azleg.gov; ahale@azleg.gov; jharper@azleg.gov; mheinz@azleg.gov; khobbs@azleg.gov; rjones@azleg.gov; pjudd@azleg.gov; jkavanagh@azleg.gov; dlesko@azleg.gov; ddavis@azleg.gov; nmclain@azleg.gov; jmesnard@azleg.gov; emeyer@azleg.gov; cmiranda@azleg.gov; rmiranda@azleg.gov; smontenegro@azleg.gov; jolson@azleg.gov; lpancrazi@azleg.gov; dpatterson@azleg.gov; fpratt@azleg.gov; tproud@azleg.gov; areeve@azleg.gov; brobson@azleg.gov; msaldate@azleg.gov; cseel@azleg.gov; dsmith@azleg.gov; dstevens@azleg.gov; atobin@azleg.gov; atovar@azleg.gov; mugenti@azleg.gov; surie@azleg.gov; tvogt@azleg.gov; jweiers@azleg.gov; jpweiers@azleg.gov; bwheeler@azleg.gov; vwilliams@azleg.gov; kyee@azleg.gov
 
Representative Eddie Ableser
Email: eableser@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-4118
 
Representative Kirk D. Adams
Email: kadams@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5495  
 
Representative Lela Alston 
Email: lalston@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5829
 
Representative Ben Arredondo
Email: barredondo@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4124
 
Representative Cecil P. Ash 
Email: cash@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3160  
 
Representative Brenda Barton
Email: bbarton@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-4129
 
Representative Kate Brophy McGee
Email: kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-4486
 
Representative Judy Burges 
Email: jburges@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5861
 
Representative Chad Campbell
Email: chcampbell@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3026
 
Representative Heather Carter
Email: hcarter@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5503
 
Representative Tom Chabin 
Email: tchabin@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5160
 
Representative Steve Court 
Email: scourt@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-4467
 
Representative Chester Crandell
Email: ccrandell@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5409
 
Representative Jeff Dial 
Email: jdial@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5550
 
Representative Karen Fann 
Email: kfann@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5874
 
Representative Steve Farley
Email: sfarley@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3022
 
Representative Eddie Farnsworth
Email: efarnsworth@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5735
 
Representative John Fillmore 
Email: jfillmore@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3012
 
Representative Tom Forese 
Email: tforese@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5168
 
Representative Ruben Gallego 
Email: rgallego@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3042
 
Representative Sally Ann Gonzales
Email: sgonzales@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3278
 
Representative Doris Goodale
Email: dgoodale@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5408
 
Representative David M. Gowan Sr.
Email: dgowan@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3312
 
Representative Rick Gray 
Email: rgray@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5993
 
Representative Albert Hale 
Email: ahale@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4323
 
Representative Jack W. Harper
Email: jharper@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4178
 
Representative Matt Heinz 
Email: mheinz@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3424
 
Representative Katie Hobbs
Email: khobbs@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5325
 
Representative Russ Jones 
Email: rjones@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3002
 
Representative Peggy Judd
Email: pjudd@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5836
 
Representative John Kavanagh
Email: jkavanagh@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5170
 
Representative Debbie Lesko
Email: dlesko@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5413
 
Representative Debbie McCune Davis
Email: ddavis@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4485
 
Representative Nancy McLain
Email: nmclain@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5051
 
Representative Javan “J.D.” Mesnard 
Email: jmesnard@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4481
 
Representative Eric Meyer 
Email: emeyer@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3037
 
Representative Catherine H. Miranda
Email: cmiranda@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4893
 
Representative Richard Miranda 
Email: rmiranda@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5911
 
Representative Steve B. Montenegro
Email: smontenegro@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5955
 
Representative Justin Olson
Email: jolson@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5288
 
Representative Lynne Pancrazi
Email: lpancrazi@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3004
 
Representative Daniel Patterson
Email: dpatterson@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5342
 
Representative Frank Pratt 
Email: fpratt@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5761
 
Representative Terri Proud 
Email: tproud@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3398
 
Representative Amanda A. Reeve 
Email: areeve@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3014
 
Representative Bob Robson
Email: brobson@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5549
 
Representative Macario Saldate IV
Email: msaldate@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4171
 
Representative Carl Seel 
Email: cseel@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3018
 
Representative David Burnell Smith
Email: dsmith@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4916
 
Representative David W. Stevens
Email: dstevens@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4321
 
Representative Andy Tobin
Email: atobin@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5172
 
Representative Anna Tovar
Email: atovar@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3392
 
Representative Michelle Ugenti 
Email: mugenti@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4480
 
Representative Steve Urie 
Email: surie@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4136
 
Representative Ted Vogt 
Email: tvogt@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3235
 
Representative Jim Weiers 
Email: jweiers@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-4173
 
Representative Jerry Weiers
Email: jpweiers@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-5894 
 
Representative Bruce Wheeler 
Email: bwheeler@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-3300
 
Representative Vic Williams 
Email: vwilliams@azleg.gov
Phone: 602/926-5839
 
Representative Kimberly Yee
Email: kyee@azleg.gov  
Phone: 602/926-3024
 
 

 

Leave a Reply