Arkansas Inoperable Vehicle Bill Update

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (HEARING UPDATE)
 
Anti-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Approved by Arkansas House; Senate City, County & Local Affairs Committee Hearing Scheduled for Tues., March 8   
 
Legislation (H.B. 1252) that would allow cities to remove inoperable vehicles from private property if the vehicle is deemed a “nuisance” under a local ordinance was approved by the Arkansas House of Representatives.  The bill will be considered by the Arkansas Senate City, County & Local Affairs Committee on Tuesday, March 8, 2011. 
 
We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate City, County & Local Affairs Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1252

For those able to attend the hearing to voice opposition, the Committee will meet on Tue., March 8, 2011 at 10:00 am at the following address:
Room 272, State Capitol
Little Rock, AR 72201
 
·         H.B. 1252 provides no reasonable safeguards for legitimate automotive hobbyists that choose to work on inoperable collector vehicles on private property.
 
·         H.B. 1252 could outlaw the repair or modification of certain motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.
 
·         H.B. 1252 could outlaw the maintenance of parts cars for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
 
·         H.B. 1252 establishes no provisions that would enable vehicles located out of public view to avoid being classified as abandoned.   
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Arkansas Senate City, County & Local Affairs Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 1252. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.
 
Arkansas Senate City, County & Local Affairs Committee
 
Senator Jerry Taylor – Chair
Phone: 870/879-3233
Email: Jerry.Taylor@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator David Burnett – Vice Chair
Phone: 870/563-5667
Email: David.Burnett@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator Michael Lamoureux
Phone: 479/968-7300
Email: Michael.Lamoureux@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator Jonathan Dismang
Phone: 501/882-0449
Email: Jonathan.Dismang@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator Bill Sample
Phone: 501/321-0040
Email: Bill.Sample@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator Mike Fletcher
Phone: 501/802-3114
Email: Mike.Fletcher@senate.ar.gov
 
Senator Steve Harrelson
Phone: 870/772-0300
Email: steve@steveharrelson.com
 
Senator Eddie Joe Williams
Phone: 501/286-9366
Email: EddieJoe.Williams@senate.ar.gov

Leave a Reply