Bill would protect W.Va. hobbyists from unfair noise citations

SEMA legislative update:

West Virginia Bill to Protect Hobbyists From Unfair Exhaust Noise Citations
 
Legislation (H.B. 2456) that would allow West Virginia’s vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket modified exhaust systems that meet a 95-decibel limit was introduced in the West Virginia State Legislature by Delegate Gary Howell.   Current West Virginia law only allows a muffler originally installed by the manufacturer or an equivalent.
 
Contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee (List Below) to request their support for H.B. 2456
 

H.B. 2456 would remove subjective provisions in the law and force compliance with an objectively measured standard.  Under the standard, exhaust noise could not exceed a sound reading of 95-decibels under a fair and predictable test.
H.B. 2456 would benefit consumers, the aftermarket industry and police officers who are charged with enforcing the law.
 
H.B. 2456 would remedy the enforcement policy currently used by police officers in which nearly all exhaust system modifications are considered illegal, even where noise levels are not excessive or unusual.  This policy leaves enthusiasts, exhaust system manufacturers and dealers without recourse.
 
H.B. 2456 recognizes that aftermarket exhaust systems are more durable and designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
 
H.B. 2456 recognizes that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
 
H.B. 2456 challenges the erroneous assumption that enthusiasts who equip their vehicles with modified exhaust systems are involved in illegal street racing.
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee   immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for A.B. 2456. 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!  Thank you for your assistance.
 
West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee
 
 
Delegate Dale Martin  – Chair
Phone: 304/340-3134
Email: dale.martin@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers – Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3197
Email: margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles – Minority Chair
Phone: 304/340-3177
Email: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Allen Evans – Minority Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3399
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: 304/340-3149
Email: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: 304/340-3220
Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone: 304/340-3113
Email: gbutcher@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Thomas Campbell
Phone: 304/340-3280
Email: tcampbell@grcs.com
 
Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone: 304/340-3188
Email: gcrosier@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Joe Elington
Phone: 304/340-3172
Email: joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: 304/340-3179
Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone: 304/340-3119
Email: djhall@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: 304/340-3191
Email: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate K. Steven Kominar
Phone: 304/340-3186
Email: kominar@verizon.net
 
Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: 304/340-3340
Email: Harold@hardynet.com
 
Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: 304/340-3181
Email: nelson@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Amanda Pasdon
Phone: 304/340-3153
Email: amanda.pasdon@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Brian Savilla
Phone: 304/340-3141
Email: brian.savilla@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: 304/340-3362
Email: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone: 304/340-3123
Email: peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Rick Snuffer
Phone: 304/340-3183
Email: rick.snuffer@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: 304/340-3395
Email: DelegateStephens@comcast.net
 
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: 304/340-3384
Email: jstowers@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate David Walker
Phone: 304/340-3135
Email: dwalker@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: 304/340-3287
Email: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

COMMENT