Under The Hood

Connecticut bill would revise collector car property tax evaluation

Connecticut bill to revise property tax evaluation for older cars may
negatively impact collector car owners

SEMA Action Network Update:

According to the SEMA Action Network, legislation (H.B. 5343) to lower the property tax on many older vehicles has been introduced.  Under the bill, the personal property tax on vehicles eight years old and older would be changed to a flat tax of $100 per year for vehicles between 8 and 10 years old with an assessed value of less than $10,000, and $50 per year for vehicles 10 years old and older with an assessed value of less than $8,000.

Under current Connecticut law, personal property taxes on vehicles are determined based on the assessed value of the vehicle and the local mill rate, which varies from jurisdiction to jurisdiction.  To calculate the tax, the local mill rate is multiplied by the assessed value of the vehicle and the resulting number is divided by 1,000.  The bill would most benefit jurisdictions with the highest mill rates and would be less helpful to jurisdictions with lower mill rates.

Antique, rare and special interest vehicles may be negatively affected by the bill.  These vehicles are currently valued at a $500 assessment, which results in a reduced tax.  Even at the highest current mill rate, these vehicles will receive a tax bill less than $50 per year.  Committee members considering the bill must clarify that antique, rare or special interest vehicles should not be subject to the flat tax.

The SEMA Action Network Urges You to Contact Members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding (List Attached) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion of H.B. 5343

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Connecticut Joint Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Fonfara@senatedems.ct.gov; Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov; leone@senatedems.ct.gov; Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; James.Albis@cga.ct.gov; David.Alexander@cga.ct.gov; Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov; Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov; Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov; Paul.Brycki@cga.ct.gov; Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov; Cassano@senatedems.ct.gov; Coleman@senatedems.ct.gov; Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov; Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; moore@senatedems.ct.gov; Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Chris.Perone@cga.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov; Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov; winfield@senatedems.ct.gov; David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov; Eric.Berthel@housegop.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; Aundre.Bumgardner@housegop.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; dan.carter@housegop.ct.gov; Laura.Devlin@housegop.ct.gov; Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov; John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov; Laura.Hoydick@housegop.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov; David.Rutigliano@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov; prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov; Terrie.Wood@housegop.ct.gov; dave.yaccarino@housegop.ct.gov

Senator John Fonfara (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0043
Email: Fonfara@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Jeffrey Berger (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8500
Email: Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roland Lemar (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov

Senator Carlo Leone (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0589
Email: leone@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Hilda Santiago (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-858
Email: Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov

Senator Scott Frantz
Phone: 860-240-8800
Email: Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Davis
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov

Representative James Albis
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: James.Albis@cga.ct.gov

Representative David Alexander
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: David.Alexander@cga.ct.gov

Representative Emil Altobello
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov

Representative Angel Arce
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov

Representative Elizabeth Boukus
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

Representative Paul Brycki
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Paul.Brycki@cga.ct.gov

Representative Larry Butler
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov

Senator Steve Cassano
Phone: 860-240-5302
Email: Cassano@senatedems.ct.gov

Senator Eric Coleman
Phone: 860-240-0528
Email: Coleman@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Daniel Fox
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov

Representative John Hennessy
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Rick Lopes
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov

Senator Marilyn Moore
Phone: 860-240-0425
Email: moore@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Russell Morin
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary Mushinsky
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov

Representative Chris Perone
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Chris.Perone@cga.ct.gov

Representative Lonnie Reed
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jason Rojas
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov

Representative Robert Sanchez
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov

Representative Charlie Stallworth
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jonathan Steinberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joe Verrengia
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov

Senator Gary Winfield
Phone: 860-240-0393
Email: winfield@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative David Zoni
Phone: 860-240-8585
Email: David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov

Representative Eric Berthel
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Eric.Berthel@housegop.ct.gov

Senator Toni Boucher
Phone: 860-240-8800
Email: Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov

Representative Aundre Bumgardner
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Aundre.Bumgardner@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Vincent Candelora
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Dan Carter
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: dan.carter@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Laura Devlin
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Laura.Devlin@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Livvy Floren
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John Frey
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Laura Hoydick
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Laura.Hoydick@housegop.ct.gov

Senator Michael McLachlan
Phone: 860-240-8800
Email: Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jason Perillo
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John Piscopo
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Rosa Rebimbas
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov

Representative David Rutigliano
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: David.Rutigliano@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John Shaban
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Prasad Srinivasan
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Terrie Wood
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Terrie.Wood@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Dave Yaccarino
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: dave.yaccarino@housegop.ct.gov

COMMENT