Under The Hood

Connecticut bill would restrict access to antique vehicle registration

SEMA ACTION NETWORK URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Connecticut Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Antique Vehicle Registration; Planning and Development Committee Hearing Scheduled for Wed., March 2 

Legislation (H.B. 5580) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles” has been introduced in the Connecticut General Assembly.  Under the bill, vehicles seeking registration under these classes would be required to be at least 25 years old.  Currently, vehicles 20 years old or older are eligible for such status and a reduced assessment for personal property tax purposes.  Antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles are currently assessed at a rate of $500 and owners pay personal property taxes on that amount.  A public hearing to consider the bill is scheduled for Wednesday, March 2, 2011.   

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5580

For those interested in attending the hearing to voice opposition, the Committee will meet on Wed., March 2 at 10:30 AM at the following address:

Room 1C of the Legislative Office Building
210 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT  06106

H.B. 5580 makes it more expensive to register legitimate collector vehicles, which are generally only used for club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
H.B. 5580 will require antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles that no longer qualify for special plates to have them replaced with standard plates and taxed using the same calculations used to assess taxes on regular, daily driver vehicles.
H.B. 5580 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained and infrequently operated.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 5580. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development

Senator Steve Cassano – Chair
Phone: 860/240-5302
Email: Cassano@senatedems.ct.gov   

Representative Linda Gentile – Chair
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov

Senator Eric Coleman – Vice-Chair
Phone: 860/240-0528
Email: Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

Representative Auden Grogins – Vice-Chair
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov

Senator Len Fasano
Phone: 800/842-1421
Email: Len.Fasano@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bill Aman
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

Representative Vincent Candelora
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Davis
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov 

Representative Mae M. Flexer
Phone: 860) 240-8585
Email: Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary G. Fritz
Phone: 860) 240-8500
Email: Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roland Lemar
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov 

Representative Elaine O’Brien
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Elaine.OBrien@cga.ct.gov  

Representative Jason Perillo
Phone: 860-240-8700
Email: jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Lonnie Reed
Phone: 860.240.8585
Email: Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tom Reynolds
Phone: 860.240.8585
Email: Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

Representative Matthew Ritter
Phone: 860) 240-8585
Email: Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jason Rojas
Phone: 860.240.8585
Email: Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kim Rose
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kim.Rose@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bill Simanski
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Richard Smith
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov

COMMENT