Hearing for anti-hobbyist bill in Arkansas scheduled today

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

 
Anti-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Introduced in Arkansas; City, County and Local Affairs Committee Hearing Scheduled for Wed., Feb. 2   
 
Legislation (H.B. 1252) that would allow cities to remove inoperable vehicles from private property if the vehicle is deemed a “nuisance” under a local ordinance has been introduced in the Arkansas State Legislature.  The bill will be considered by the Arkansas House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs on Wed., Feb. 2, 2011.
 
We Urge You to Contact Members of the Arkansas House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1252

For those interested in attending the hearing to voice opposition, the Committee will meet on Wed., Feb. 2 at 10:00 a.m. at the following address:
Room B, Mac Building
1 Capitol Mall
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
 
·         H.B. 1252 provides no reasonable safeguards for legitimate automotive hobbyists that choose to work on inoperable collector vehicles on private property.
 
·         H.B. 1252 could outlaw the repair or modification of certain motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.
 
·         H.B. 1252 could outlaw the maintenance of parts cars for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
 
·         H.B. 1252 establishes no provisions that would enable vehicles located out of public view to avoid being classified as abandoned.   
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Arkansas House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 1252. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.  
 
Arkansas House Committee on City, County and Local Affairs

 
Representative Charolette Wagner – Chair
Phone: 870/561-4600
Email: charolette.wagner@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Jane English – Vice Chair
Phone: 501/257-7670
Email: jane.english@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Toni Bradford
Phone: 870/879-5270
Email: toni.bradford@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Tommy Lee Baker
Phone: 870/563-8277
Email: tommylee.baker@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Kathy Webb
Phone: 501/258-1949
Email: kathy.webb@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Davy Carter
Phone: 501/605-1346
Email: davy.carter@gmail.com
 
Representative Tracy Steele
Phone: 501/374-8788
Email: repsteele@yahoo.com
 
Representative Denny Altes
Phone: 479/646-8981
Email: aaltes@aol.com
 
Representative Linda Collins-Smith
Phone: 870/378-1434
Email: Linda.Collins-Smith@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Jon S. Eubanks
Phone: 479/438-0533
Email: Jon.Eubanks@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative David L. Branscum
Phone: 870/448-2408
Email: davidlbranscum@hotmail.com
 
Representative Sheilla E. Lampkin
Phone: 870/723-6449
Email: Sheilla.Lampkin@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Jeremy Gillam
Phone: 501/729-0042
Email: jeremy@growing49.com
 
Representative Andy Mayberry
Phone: 501/888-3522
Email: andymayberry@windstream.net
 
Representative Betty Overbey
Phone: 479/885-6479
Email: Betty.Overbey@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Josh Johnston
Phone: 501/556-1951
Email: josh.johnston@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative David Fielding
Phone: 870/234-6143
Email: david.fielding@arkansashouse.org
 
Representative Nate Bell
Phone: 479/394-5665
Email: nate@natebell4arkansas.com
 
Representative Tommy Thompson
Phone: 501/208-2007
Email: tt4rep@att.net
 
Representative Leslee Milam Post
Phone: 479/518-0331
Email: leslee.post@arkansashouse.org

Leave a Reply