Under The Hood

Iowa bill restricts ethanol content information at pump

Bill to Restrict Consumer Information on Ethanol Content in Gasoline Approved by Iowa Senate Agriculture Committee; Moves Next to Ways and Means
 
Legislation (S.F. 476) to change labeling requirements on gas pumps across the state to only require labeling for unblended gasoline and E85 has been introduced in Iowa.  Current law in Iowa requires labeling when gasoline is blended with ethanol, in any amount.  If enacted, the bill would remove labeling requirements for ethanol blended gasoline containing 15% or less ethanol, thereby increasing the risk of misfueling and potential engine damage.  Unblended gas is required to be labeled, but there is no guarantee that unblended gas will be available.  The bill has been approved by the Senate Committee on Agriculture and is pending consideration in the Senate Ways and Means Committee.  You have a right to know what blend of ethanol you are putting in your older collector cars!
 
We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Iowa Senate Ways and Means Committee (List Below) to Request Their Opposition to S.F. 476

The U.S. EPA has approved E15 for use in model year 2001 and newer vehicles.  That means that if this bill is enacted, consumers buying ethanol blended gasoline won’t know if they are pumping E10 or E15 into their vehicle. 
Ethanol increases water formation in the fuel system, especially when the vehicle sits over a period of time.  Under these conditions, formic acid is created which corrodes metals, plastics and rubber.  This can lead to engine/parts failures and, potentially, safety hazards. 
Many products in the marketplace, including older cars (your special interest collector and historic vehicles), use materials that are incompatible with ethanol.

·         In addition to the potential harm of ethanol blended gasoline on some engine components, S.F. 476 provides no procedure to ensure misfueling does not occur or any plan to guarantee gasoline without ethanol will be available for older vehicles.   
 
·         The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has been urged to create national labeling requirements for ethanol blended gasoline that are placed as close as possible to the pump’s product selection mechanism, but since such requirements are not currently in place, vehicle owners must rely on state labeling requirements for information about the gasoline they use in their vehicles.
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Iowa Senate Ways and Means Committee by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.F. 476.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.
 
Iowa Senate Ways and Means Committee
 
Senator Joe Bolkcom – Chair
Phone: 319/337-6280
Email: joe.bolkcom@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Dr. Joe M. Seng – Vice Chair
Phone: 563/940-0671
Email: joe.seng@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Brad Zaun 
Phone: 515.223-4500
Email: brad.zaun@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Bill Anderson 
Phone: 712/898-2505
Email: bill.anderson@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Merlin Bartz 
Phone: 641/903-9548
Email: merlin.bartz@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Dennis Black 
Phone: 515/975-8608
Email: dennis.black@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Mark Chelgren 
Phone: 641/777-7047
Email: mark.chelgren@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Swati A. Dandekar 
Phone: 319/377-2087
Email: swati.dandekar@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator William A. Dotzler, Jr. 
Phone: 319/296-2947
Email: bill.dotzler@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Randy Feenstra 
Phone: 712/439-1244
Email: randy.feenstra@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Robert M. Hogg 
Phone: 319/538-2247
Email: rob.hogg@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Pam Jochum 
Phone: 563/556-6530
Email: pam.jochum@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Matthew McCoy 
Phone: 515/274-0561
Email: matt.mccoy@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Herman C. Quirmbach 
Phone: 515/292-8984
Email: herman.quirmbach@legis.state.ia.us
 
Senator Roby Smith 
Phone: 563/386-0179
Email: roby.smith@legis.state.ia.us

COMMENT