Iowa legislative alert from SEMA/ARMO

Iowa hobbyists, here’s your chance to save some bucks! Read on…

   URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

     Iowa Introduces Bill to Reduce Registration Fee for
               Limited-Use Antique Motor Vehicles 

A bill (S.F. 2035) has been introduced in the Iowa State Legislature to allow any antique motor vehicle to be registered as a “limited-use” antique vehicle for an annual fee of $5.  The bill adds “other occasional use” to the purposes for which a limited use antique vehicle may be driven.  “Other occasional use” is defined as driven not more than 1,000 miles annually.             

We Urge You to Contact Senate Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for S.F. 2035

• Iowa law defines an “Antique motor vehicle” to mean any motor vehicle which is twenty-five years old or older.  

• Iowa law currently only allows an antique motor truck, truck tractor, road tractor or motor home that is used exclusively for exhibition or educational purposes to apply for a limited use two-year registration for a fee of $70. 

• In addition to 1,000 miles annual use, S.F. 2035 would allow all antique vehicles registered for limited use to be driven to and from state and county fairs (or other places of entertainment or education) for exhibition or educational purposes, to and from service stations for the purpose of receiving necessary maintenance, and for the purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or selling the vehicle. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Iowa Senate Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of S.F. 2035. 

Iowa Senate Transportation Committee

Tom Rielly – Chair
Phone: 641/673-5878
Email: tom.rielly@legis.state.ia.us

Daryl Beall – Vice Chair
Phone: 515/573-7889
Email: daryl.beall@legis.state.ia.us

Larry L. Noble – Ranking Member
Phone: 515/964-7521
Email: larry.noble@legis.state.ia.us

Swati A. Dandekar
Phone: 319/377-2087
Email: Swati.Dandekar@legis.state.ia.us

Jeff Danielson
Phone: 319/214-0063
Email: jeff.danielson@legis.state.ia.us

James F. Hahn
Phone: 563/263-1208
Email: james.hahn@legis.state.ia.us

Tom Hancock
Phone: 563/876-3219
Email: tom.hancock@legis.state.ia.us

William M. Heckroth
Phone: 319/352-5149
Email: bill.heckroth@legis.state.ia.us
 
Tim L. Kapucian
Phone: 319/442-5337
Email: tkgrainandlvstk@hotmail.com

Matt McCoy
Phone: 515/274-0561
Email: matt.mccoy@legis.state.ia.us

Kim Reynolds
Phone: 641/342-6209
Email: kreynolds@iowatelecom.net

Steve Warnstadt
Phone: 712/258-3705
Email: steve.warnstadt@legis.state.ia.us

Brad Zaun
Phone: 515/276-2025
Email: brad.zaun@legis.state.ia.us

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.
 
 

 

COMMENT