Kansas considers anti-hobbyist ‘nuisance car’ bill

Angelo Van Bogart |

Kansas considers anti-hobbyist ‘nuisance car’ bill

SEMA Action Network Alert

Anti-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill to be Considered by Committee on Jan. 21, 2014

Legislation (H.B. 2247) to provide counties with the authority to remove from private property motor vehicles deemed to be a “nuisance” has been introduced in the Kansas House of Representatives. Only cities are currently allowed that authority. The bill will be considered by the House Local Government Committee on Jan. 21, 2014.

If the bill passes, cars such as this Cadillac would be considered a 'nuisance' and could be removed from the owner's property by  government agents.

If the bill passes, cars such as this Cadillac would be considered a ‘nuisance’ and could be removed from the owner’s property by government agents.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Local Government Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2247

In Kansas, maintaining a public nuisance means “intentionally causing or permitting a condition to exist which injures or endangers the public health, safety or welfare.” This definition provides no real guidance for motor vehicle owners maintaining inoperable vehicles on private property.

H.B. 2247 provides no reasonable concessions for legitimate automotive hobbyists that choose to work on inoperable collector vehicles on private property.

H.B. 2247 could allow counties to outlaw the repair or modification of certain motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.

H.B. 2247 establishes no provisions that would enable vehicles located out of public view to avoid being classified as nuisances.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Kansas House Local Government Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 2247.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. Kansas House Local Government Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below: steve.huebert@house.ks.gov; tom.phillips@house.ks.gov; john.alcala@house.ks.gov; john.barker@house.ks.gov; stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov; erin.davis@house.ks.gov; keith.esau@house.ks.gov; broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov; mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov; connie.obrien@house.ks.gov; michael.peterson@house.ks.gov; scott.schwab@house.ks.gov; sharon.schwartz@house.ks.gov

Representative Steve Huebert (Chair) Phone: 785 296-1754 Email: steve.huebert@house.ks.gov

Representative Tom Phillips (Vice-Chair) Phone: 785 296-6014 Email: tom.phillips@house.ks.gov

Representative John Alcala Phone: 785 296-7371 Email: john.alcala@house.ks.gov

Representative John Barker Phone: 785 296-7674 Email: john.barker@house.ks.gov

Representative Stephanie Clayton Phone: 785 296-7655 Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Representative Erin Davis Phone: 785-296-6824 Email: erin.davis@house.ks.gov

Representative Keith Esau Phone: 785 296-7631 Email: keith.esau@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson Phone: 785 296-7697 Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Mike Kiegerl Phone: 785-296-7636 Email: mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov

Representative Connie O’Brien Phone: 785 296-7683 Email: connie.obrien@house.ks.gov

Representative Mike Peterson Phone: 785 296-7371 Email: michael.peterson@house.ks.gov

Representative Scott Schwab Phone: 785 296-7501 Email: scott.schwab@house.ks.gov

Representative Sharon Schwartz Phone: 785 296-7637 Email: sharon.schwartz@house.ks.gov

Leave a Reply