Under The Hood

Kentucky bill would assess new collector car property tax rates

Kentucky Reintroduces Bill to Assess Motor Vehicles for Property Tax

Legislation (H.B. 20) to put in place a new valuation procedure for older vehicles was reintroduced.  Vehicles 20 years old or older would no longer be presumed to be in “original factory” or “classic” condition. Original factory and classic vehicles are currently assessed as high-value collectibles.  This measure instead provides three options for assessing the value of these vehicles: (1) if the vehicle was registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be assessed at the value it was assessed at in its 19th year and that value will be reduced by 10% for each year after its 19th year; (2) if the vehicle was not registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be valued according to its “average trade-in value” in its 19th year, which would be reduced by 10% for each year after the vehicle’s 19th year and; or (3) a valuation administrator would conduct an assessment of the vehicle to determine the correct value, which would be reduced by 10% for each year thereafter.
We Urge You to Contact Members of the Kentucky House Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion of H.B. 20

Sample of a Kentucky Historic Motor Vehicle license plate.

Sample of a Kentucky Historic Motor Vehicle license plate.


Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!

Kentucky House Transportation Committee
(To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below):
hubert.collins@lrc.ky.gov; Leslie.Combs@lrc.ky.gov; Charlie.Miller@lrc.ky.gov; Marie.Rader@lrc.ky.gov; diane.st.onge@lrc.ky.gov; Denver.butler@lrc.ky.gov; tim.couch@lrc.ky.gov; will.coursey@lrc.ky.gov; david.floyd@lrc.ky.gov; donna.mayfield@lrc.ky.gov; Tom.McKee@lrc.ky.gov; russ.meyer@lrc.ky.gov; jerry.miller@lrc.ky.gov; Terry.Mills@lrc.ky.gov; Rick.Nelson@lrc.ky.gov; tanya.pullin@lrc.ky.gov; steve.riggs@lrc.ky.gov; Sal.Santoro@lrc.ky.gov; john.short@lrc.ky.gov; Arnold.Simpson@lrc.ky.gov; fitz.steele@lrc.ky.gov; Jim.Stewart@lrc.ky.gov; Tommy.Turner@lrc.ky.gov; David.Watkins@lrc.ky.gov; addia.wuchner@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Hubert Collins (Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 654
Email: hubert.collins@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Leslie Combs (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 669
Email: Leslie.Combs@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Charles Miller (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 631
Email: Charlie.Miller@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Marie Rader (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 720
Email: Marie.Rader@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Diane St. Onge (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 701
Email: diane.st.onge@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Denver Butler
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 670
Email: Denver.butler@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Tim Couch
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 632
Email: tim.couch@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Will Coursey
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 659
Email: will.coursey@lrc.ky.gov

Representative David Floyd
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 664
Email: david.floyd@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Donna Mayfield
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 630
Email: donna.mayfield@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Tom McKee
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 667
Email: Tom.McKee@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Russ Meyer
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 623
Email: russ.meyer@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Jerry Miller
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 718
Email: jerry.miller@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Terry Mills
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 684
Email: Terry.Mills@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Rick G. Nelson
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 612
Email: Rick.Nelson@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Tanya Pullin
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 678
Email: tanya.pullin@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Steve Riggs
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 674
Email: steve.riggs@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Sal Santoro
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 691
Email: Sal.Santoro@lrc.ky.gov

Representative John Short
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 668
Email: john.short@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Arnold Simpson
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 695
Email: Arnold.Simpson@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Fitz Steele
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 697
Email: fitz.steele@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Jim Stewart III
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 690
Email: Jim.Stewart@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Tommy Turner
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 716
Email: Tommy.Turner@lrc.ky.gov

Representative David Watkins
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 700
Email: David.Watkins@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Addia Wuchner
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 707
Email: addia.wuchner@lrc.ky.gov


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.