Under The Hood

Nebraska considers restricting consumer info on ethanol content



Bill to Restrict Consumer Information on Ethanol Content in Gasoline to be Considered by Nebraska Legislature
Legislation (L.B. 698) to change labeling requirements on gas pumps across the state so that labeling is only required when gasoline contains 11% or more alcohol has been introduced in Nebraska.  A previous version of the bill eliminated labeling requirements all together.  Current law in Nebraska requires labeling when gasoline contains 1% or more alcohol, including labels for pumps dispensing E10.  If enacted, the bill would make it impossible for enthusiasts to know whether the gasoline they put into their vehicles contains any ethanol, making it possible to misfuel the vehicle and cause engine damage.  The bill has been approved by the Agriculture Committee and is pending on the floor of the Nebraska Legislature.  You have a right to know what blend of ethanol you are putting in your older collector cars!
We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Nebraska Legislature (List Below) to Request Their Opposition to L.B. 698

Ethanol increases water formation in the fuel system, especially when the vehicle sits over a period of time.  Under these conditions, formic acid is created which corrodes metals, plastics and rubber.  This can lead to engine/parts failures and, potentially, safety hazards. 
Many products in the marketplace, including older cars (your special interest collector and historic vehicles), use materials that are incompatible with ethanol.
In addition to the potential harm of ethanol blended gasoline on some engine components, Nebraska has no procedure in place to ensure misfueling does not occur or any plan to guarantee gasoline without ethanol will be available for older vehicles.   
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has been urged to create national labeling requirements for ethanol blended gasoline that are placed as close as possible to the pump’s product selection mechanism, but since such requirements are not currently in place, vehicle owners must rely on state labeling requirements for information about the gasoline they use in their vehicles.
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Nebraska State Legislature immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to L.B. 698.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.
Nebraska State Legislature
To email all members of the Nebraska State Legislature, copy and paste the email address block below:
gadams@leg.ne.gov; bashford@leg.ne.gov; bavery@leg.ne.gov; dbloomfield@leg.ne.gov; lbrasch@leg.ne.gov; kcampbell@leg.ne.gov; tcarlson@leg.ne.gov; mchristensen@leg.ne.gov; ccoash@leg.ne.gov; dconrad@leg.ne.gov; tcook@leg.ne.gov; acornett@leg.ne.gov; bcouncil@leg.ne.gov; adubas@leg.ne.gov; dfischer@leg.ne.gov; ; tfulton@leg.ne.gov; mgloor@leg.ne.gov; khaar@leg.ne.gov; ghadley@leg.ne.gov; thansen@leg.ne.gov; jharms@leg.ne.gov; lheidemann@leg.ne.gov; ghoward@leg.ne.gov; cjanssen@leg.ne.gov; rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov; bkrist@leg.ne.gov; clangemeier@leg.ne.gov; slathrop@leg.ne.gov; llouden@leg.ne.gov; bmccoy@leg.ne.gov; amcgill@leg.ne.gov; hmello@leg.ne.gov; jnelson@leg.ne.gov; jnordquist@leg.ne.gov; rpahls@leg.ne.gov; dpankonin@leg.ne.gov; ppirsch@leg.ne.gov; sprice@leg.ne.gov; kschilz@leg.ne.gov; pschumacher@leg.ne.gov; jsmith@leg.ne.gov; ksullivan@leg.ne.gov; dutter@leg.ne.gov; nwallman@leg.ne.gov; jwightman@leg.ne.gov

Senator Greg Adams 
Phone: 402/471-2756
Email: gadams@leg.ne.gov
Senator Brad Ashford                       
Phone: 402/471-2622
Email: bashford@leg.ne.gov
Senator Bill Avery                 
Phone: 402/471-2633
Email: bavery@leg.ne.gov
Senator Dave Bloomfield
Phone: 402/471-2716
Email: dbloomfield@leg.ne.gov
Senator Lydia Brasch
Phone: 402/471-2728
Email: lbrasch@leg.ne.gov
Senator Kathy Campbell                    
Phone: 402/471-2731
Email: kcampbell@leg.ne.gov
Senator Tom Carlson             
Phone: 402/471-2732
Email: tcarlson@leg.ne.gov
Senator Mark Christensen                  
Phone: 402/471-2805
Email: mchristensen@leg.ne.gov
Senator Colby Coash
Phone: 402/471-2632
Email: ccoash@leg.ne.gov
Senator Danielle Conrad                    
Phone: 402/471-2720
Email: dconrad@leg.ne.gov
Senator Tanya Cook              
Phone: 402/471-2727
Email: tcook@leg.ne.gov
Senator Abbie Cornett                       
Phone: 402/471-2615
Email: acornett@leg.ne.gov
Senator Brenda Council                     
Phone: 402/471-2612
Email: bcouncil@leg.ne.gov
Senator Annette Dubas                      
Phone: 402/471-2630
Email: adubas@leg.ne.gov
Senator Deb Fischer               
Phone: 402/471-2628
Email: dfischer@leg.ne.gov
Senator Mike Flood               
Phone: 402/471-2929
Email: mflood@leg.ne.gov
Senator Tony Fulton              
Phone: 402/471-2734
Email: tfulton@leg.ne.gov
Senator Mike Gloor               
Phone: 402/471-2617
Email: mgloor@leg.ne.gov
Senator Ken Haar                  
Phone: 402/471-2673
Email: khaar@leg.ne.gov
Senator Galen Hadley            
Phone: 402/471-2726
Email: ghadley@leg.ne.gov
Senator Thomas Hansen                    
Phone: 402/471-2729
Email: thansen@leg.ne.gov
Senator John Harms               
Phone: 402/471-2802
Email: jharms@leg.ne.gov
Senator Lavon Heidemann                
Phone: 402/471-2733
Email: lheidemann@leg.ne.gov
Senator Gwen Howard                      
Phone: 402/471-2723
Email: ghoward@leg.ne.gov
Senator Charlie Janssen                     
Phone: 402/471-2625
Email: cjanssen@leg.ne.gov
Russ Karpisek                       
Phone: 402/471-2711
Email: rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov
Senator Bob Krist                  
Phone: 402/471-2718
Email: bkrist@leg.ne.gov
Senator Chris Langemeier                  
Phone: 402/471-2719
Email: clangemeier@leg.ne.gov
Senator Steve Lathrop                       
Phone: 402/471-2623
Email: slathrop@leg.ne.gov
Senator Scott Lautenbaugh               
Phone: 402/471-2618
Email: slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov
Senator LeRoy Louden                     
Phone: 402/471-2725
Email: llouden@leg.ne.gov
Senator Beau McCoy             
Phone: 402/471-2885
Email: bmccoy@leg.ne.gov
Senator Amanda McGill                    
Phone: 402/471-2610
Email: amcgill@leg.ne.gov
Senator Heath Mello
Phone: 402/471-2710
Email: hmello@leg.ne.gov
Senator John Nelson              
Phone: 402/471-2714
Email: jnelson@leg.ne.gov
Senator Jeremy Nordquist
Phone: 402/471-2721
Email: jnordquist@leg.ne.gov
Senator Rich Pahls                 
Phone: 402/471-2327
Email: rpahls@leg.ne.gov
Senator Dave Pankonin                     
Phone: 402/471-2613
Email: dpankonin@leg.ne.gov
Senator Pete Pirsch                
Phone: 402/471-2621
Email: ppirsch@leg.ne.gov
Senator Scott Price                
Phone: 402/471-2627
Email: sprice@leg.ne.gov
Senator Ken Schilz                
Phone: 402/471-2616
Email: kschilz@leg.ne.gov
Senator Paul Schumacher
Phone: 402/471-2715
Email: pschumacher@leg.ne.gov
Senator Jim Smith
Phone: 402/471-2730
Email: jsmith@leg.ne.gov
Senator Kate Sullivan            
Phone: 402/471-2631
Email: ksullivan@leg.ne.gov
Senator Dennis Utter             
Phone: 402/471-2712
Email: dutter@leg.ne.gov
Senator Norman Wallman                  
Phone: 402/471-2620
Email: nwallman@leg.ne.gov
Senator John Wightman                     
Phone: 402/471-2642
Email: jwightman@leg.ne.gov