New York bill would add $2,500 tax to 'gas guzzlers'

New York Reconsiders Taxing ‘Gas Guzzlers’

In another misguided attempt to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, legislation (A.B. 1318) has been reintroduced in the New York State Assembly to establish a progressive purchase surcharge for some new motor vehicles based on state calculations of carbon emissions.  Depending on the vehicle purchased, this surcharge could require owners to pay up to $2,500 more for the vehicle.  Funds collected under the program would be used in part to fund discounts for hybrids and electric cars.  If this effort is successful, the effects on your ability to purchase the vehicle of your choice, not to mention vehicle safety, will be dramatic.

We Urge You to Contact the Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to A.B. 1318

A.B 1318 will limit consumer choice in purchasing vehicles by making popular performance and luxury cars, as well as SUVs, light trucks and minivans, substantially more expensive to own.
A.B. 1318 will potentially lead to more deaths on New York’s highways as higher taxes on larger, safer vehicles forces consumers into smaller cars with higher accident fatality rates.
A.B. 1318 will not conserve energy.  Greenhouse gas emissions depends on a host of other factors such as total miles traveled.  
A.B. 1318 will do little to improve air quality.  Air quality has more to do with overall basic vehicle maintenance than it does with owning and operating any particular class of vehicle.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the New York Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 1318. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!  Thank you for your assistance.

New York Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee

Assemblymember Robert Sweeney – Chair
Phone: 518-455-5787
Email: sweeneyr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Daniel Burling
Phone: 518-455-5314
Email: burlind@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember William Colton
Phone: 518-455-5828
Email: coltonw@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Marcos Crespo
Phone: 518-455-5514
Email: crespom@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Steven Cymbrowitz
Phone: 518-455-5214
Email: cymbrowitzs@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Gary Finch
Phone: 518-455-5878
Email: finchg@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Deborah Glick
Phone: 518-455-4841
Email: glickd@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Aileen Gunther
Phone: 518-455-5355
Email: gunthera@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Ellen Jaffee
Phone: 518-455-5118
Email: jaffeee@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Brian Kavanagh
Phone: 518-455-5506
Email: kavanaghb@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Micah Kellner
Phone: 518-455-5676
Email: kellnerm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember George Latimer
Phone: 518-455-4897
Email: latimerg@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Barbara Lifton
Phone: 518-455-5444
Email: liftonb@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Peter Lopez
Phone: 518-455-5363
Email: lopezp@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Donna Lupardo
Phone: 518-455-5431
Email: LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Daniel O’Donnell
Phone: 518-455-5603
Email: odonnelld@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Crystal Peoples-Stokes
Phone: 518-455-5005
Email: peoplec@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Annie Rabbitt
Phone: 518-455-5991
Email: rabbitta@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Joseph Saladino
Phone: 518-455-5305
Email: saladij@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Teresa Sayward
Phone: 518-455-5565
Email: saywart@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michelle Schimel
Phone: 518-455-5192
Email: SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Fred Thiele, Jr.
Phone: 518-455-5997
Email: thielef@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Matthew Titone
Phone: 518-455-4677
Email: TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Harvey Weisenberg
Phone: 518-455-3028
Email: weisenh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Kenneth Zebrowski
Phone: 518-455-5735
Email: zebrowk@assembly.state.ny.us

COMMENT