NY re-introduces bill for one-time historic vehicle fee

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA legislative update:

New York Reintroduces Bill to Provide for One-Time Historic Vehicle Registration Fee

Legislation has been reintroduced in the New York Assembly (A.B. 2080) by Assemblymember Bill Reilich to provide that historical vehicle owners only pay a one-time registration fee of $100 upon initial registration.  The bill has been referred to the New York Assembly Transportation Committee for consideration.   

We Urge You to Contact Assembly Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately to Support A.B. 2080

The reduced registration fee would be available to owners of historical vehicles owned and operated as an exhibition piece or collector’s item and used for club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, occasional transportation and similar uses.
Under current New York law, a historical motor vehicle is either a vehicle manufactured more than 25 years ago or one which has unique characteristics and which is determined to be of historical, classic or exhibition value.
The $100 one-time fee would replace the current annual fee of $28.75.
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by e-mail to request their support for A.B. 2080.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!  Thank you for your assistance.

New York Assembly Transportation Committee

Assemblymember David Gantt – Chair
Phone: 518/455-5606
Email: GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Marcos Crespo
Phone: 518/455-5514
Email: CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael Cusick
Phone: 518/455-5526
Email: CusickM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael DenDekker
Phone: 518/455-4545
Email: DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Dennis Gabryszak
Phone: 518/455-5921
Email: GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Sam Hoyt
Phone: 518/455-4886
Email: HoytS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Tony Jordan
Phone: 518/455-5404
Email: JordanJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember George Latimer
Phone: 518/455-4897
Email: LatimeG@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Donna Lupardo
Phone: 518/455-5431
Email: LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Alan Maisel
Phone: 518/455-5211
Email: MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David McDonough
Phone: 518/455-4633
Email: McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Joan Millman
Phone: 518/455-5426
Email: MillmaJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Dean Murray
Phone: 518/455-4901
Email: MurrayD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Nick Perry
Phone: 518/455-4166
Email: PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Bill Reilich
Phone: 518/455-4664
Email: ReilicW@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michelle Schimel
Phone: 518/455-5192
Email: SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Fred Thiele
Phone: 518/455-5997
Email: ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Matthew Titone
Phone: 518/455-4677
Email: TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Lou Tobacco
Phone: 518/455-4495
Email: TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Harvey Weisenberg
Phone: 518/455-3028
Email: WeisenH@assembly.state.ny.us

Leave a Reply