Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Reintroduced in Washington State

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

 
Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Reintroduced in Washington State
 
SEMA model legislation (S.B. 5586) has been reintroduced in the Washington State Legislature by Senator Mike Carrell (Carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov).  S.B. 5586 would prohibit cities or towns from enforcing an ordinance, development regulation, zoning regulation, or administrative practice that prevents automobile collectors from pursuing their hobby.  Junked, wrecked or inoperable vehicles, including parts cars, stored on private property would only require screening from public view if required by local law.  The bill is pending consideration by the Washington Senate Government Operations, Tribal Relations and Elections Committee. 
 
We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Government Operations, Tribal Relations and Elections Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5586
 
·         S.B. 5586 would permit the repair or modification of motor vehicles on private property that are undergoing restoration.
 
·         S.B. 5586 would permit the maintenance of parts cars as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
 
·         S.B. 5586 provides safeguards for hobbyists to work on collector vehicles on private property.
 
·         S.B. 5586 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be located out of public view by means of suitable fencing, vegetation or other means. 
 
·         S.B. 5586 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Senate Government Operations, Tribal Relations and Elections Committee to request their support for S.B. 5586.  Thank you for your assistance.
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!   
 
Senate Government Operations, Tribal Relations and Elections Committee
 
Senator Craig Pridemore – Chair
Phone: 360/786-7696
Email: pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov
 
Senator Margarita Prentice – Vice Chair
Phone: 360/786-7616
Email: prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov 
 
Senator Don Benton
Phone: 360/786-7632
Email: benton.don@leg.wa.gov
 
Senator Maralyn Chase
Phone: 360/786-7662
Email: chase.maralyn@leg.wa.gov
 
Senator Sharon Nelson
Phone: 360/786-7667
Email: nelson.sharon@leg.wa.gov 
 
Senator Pam Roach
Phone: 360/786-7660
Email: roach.pam@leg.wa.gov
 
Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: 360/786-7638
Email: swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov
 

COMMENT