Under The Hood

Texas legislative committee approves rod and custom bill

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)

Texas Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Approved by House Transportation Committee; Moves Next to Full House

SEMA model legislation (H.B. 890) that would create a vehicle registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles and provide for special license plates for these vehicles was approved by the House Transportation Committee.  H.B. 890 defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948.  The bill will now be considered on the floor for a vote by all House members. 
 
We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Texas House of Representatives (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 890.

H.B. 890 provides specific registration/titling classes and license plates for street rods and customs, including replicas.  Street rods are of a pre-1949 vintage; customs are of the post-1949 era. 
H.B. 890 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling and registration criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
H.B. 890 only holds street rods, customs and replicas to the equipment standards specified by law during the model year listed on the title of the vehicle.
H.B. 890 recognizes the immeasurable amount of time, money and attention automotive enthusiasts invest in their hobby cars.  Street rods, customs and replicas are the same crowd pleasers that participate in exhibitions and as parade vehicles, and whose owners regularly contribute to charities and civic events.  This legislation represents an opportunity to acknowledge this family hobby and to protect it for future generations. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Texas House of Representatives to urge support for H.B. 890.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Texas House of Representatives

To email all members of the Texas House of Representatives, copy and paste the email address block below:

aaron.pena@house.state.tx.us; allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us; allen.fletcher@house.state.tx.us; alma.allen@house.state.tx.us; ana.hernandez@house.state.tx.us; angie.button@house.state.tx.us; armando.martinez@house.state.tx.us; armando.walle@house.state.tx.us; barbara.nash@house.state.tx.us; beverly.woolley@house.state.tx.us; bill.zedler@house.state.tx.us; borris.miles@house.state.tx.us; brandon.creighton@house.state.tx.us; bryan.hughes@house.state.tx.us; burt.solomons@house.state.tx.us; byron.cook@house.state.tx.us; carol.alvarado@house.state.tx.us; charles.anderson@house.state.tx.us; charles.perry@house.state.tx.us; charles.schwertner@house.state.tx.us; charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us; chente.quintanilla@house.state.tx.us; chuck.hopson@house.state.tx.us; cindy.burkett@house.state.tx.us; connie.scott@house.state.tx.us; craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us; dan.branch@house.state.tx.us; dan.flynn@house.state.tx.us; dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us; david.simpson@house.state.tx.us; dawnna.dukes@house.state.tx.us; debbie.riddle@house.state.tx.us; dee.margo@house.state.tx.us; dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us; diane.patrick@house.state.tx.us; donna.howard@house.state.tx.us; doug.miller@house.state.tx.us; drew.darby@house.state.tx.us; dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us; eddie.lucio@house.state.tx.us; eddie.rodriguez@house.state.tx.us; elliot.naishtat@house.state.tx.us; eric.johnson@house.state.tx.us; erwin.cain@house.state.tx.us; fred.brown@house.state.tx.us; gary.elkins@house.state.tx.us; geanie.morrison@house.state.tx.us; george.lavender@house.state.tx.us; harold.dutton@house.state.tx.us; harvey.hilderbran@house.state.tx.us; helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us;  hubert.vo@house.state.tx.us; jm.lozano@house.state.tx.us; james.white@house.state.tx.us; jason.isaac@house.state.tx.us; jerry.madden@house.state.tx.us;  jessica.farrar@house.state.tx.us; jim.jackson@house.state.tx.us; jim.landtroop@house.state.tx.us; jim.keffer@house.state.tx.us; jim.murphy@house.state.tx.us; jim.pitts@house.state.tx.us; jimmie.aycock@house.state.tx.us; joaquin.castro@house.state.tx.us; jodie.laubenberg@house.state.tx.us; joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us; joe.driver@house.state.tx.us; joe.farias@house.state.tx.us; joe.straus@house.state.tx.us; john.davis@house.state.tx.us; john.frullo@house.state.tx.us; john.garza@house.state.tx.us; john.otto@house.state.tx.us; john.smithee@house.state.tx.us; john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us; jose.aliseda@house.state.tx.us; jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us; kelly.hancock@house.state.tx.us; ken.legler@house.state.tx.us; ken.paxton@house.state.tx.us; kenneth.sheets@house.state.tx.us; lance.gooden@house.state.tx.us; lanham.lyne@house.state.tx.us; larry.gonzales@house.state.tx.us; larry.phillips@house.state.tx.us; larry.taylor@house.state.tx.us; leo.berman@house.state.tx.us; linda.harperbrown@house.state.tx.us; loiskolkhorst@house.state.tx.us; lyle.larson@house.state.tx.us; marc.veasey@house.state.tx.us; marisa.marquez@house.state.tx.us; mark.shelton@house.state.tx.us; mark.strama@house.state.tx.us; marva.beck@house.state.tx.us; mike.hamilton@house.state.tx.us; mike.villarreal@house.state.tx.us; myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us; naomi.gonzalez@house.state.tx.us; paul.workman@house.state.tx.us; pete.gallego@house.state.tx.us; phil.king@house.state.tx.us; rafael.anchia@house.state.tx.us; ralph.sheffield@house.state.tx.us; randy.weber@house.state.tx.us;  raul.torres@house.state.tx.us; rene.oliveira@house.state.tx.us; richard.raymond@house.state.tx.us; rick.hardcastle@house.state.tx.us; rob.eissler@house.state.tx.us; rob.orr@house.state.tx.us; roberto.alonzo@house.state.tx.us; rodney.anderson@house.state.tx.us;  roland.gutierrez@house.state.tx.us; ron.reynolds@house.state.tx.us; ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us; ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us; sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us; scott.hochberg@house.state.tx.us; SenfroniaThompson@yahoo.com; sergio.munoz@house.state.tx.us; sid.miller@house.state.tx.us; stefani.carter@house.state.tx.us; susan.king@house.state.tx.us; sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us; tan.parker@house.state.tx.us; tim.kleinschmidt@house.state.tx.us; todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us;  todd.smith@house.state.tx.us; tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us; tracy.king@house.state.tx.us; trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us; tryon.lewis@house.state.tx.us; van.taylor@house.state.tx.us; veronica.gonzales@house.state.tx.us; vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us; walter.price@house.state.tx.us; warren.chisum@house.state.tx.us; wayne.smith@house.state.tx.us; will.hartnett@house.state.tx.us; bill.callegari@house.state.tx.us; yvonne.davis@house.state.tx.us

Representative Aaron Pena
Phone: 512/463-0426
Email: aaron.pena@house.state.tx.us

Representative Allan Ritter 
Phone: 512/463-0706
Email: allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us

Representative Allen Fletcher 
Phone: 512/463-0661
Email: allen.fletcher@house.state.tx.us

Representative Alma Allen 
Phone: 512/463-0744
Email: alma.allen@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ana Hernandez Luna 
Phone: 512/463-0614
Email: ana.hernandez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Angie Chen Button 
Phone: 512/463-0486
Email: angie.button@house.state.tx.us

Representative Armando Martinez 
Phone: 512/463-0530
Email: armando.martinez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Armando Walle 
Phone: 512/463-0924
Email: armando.walle@house.state.tx.us

Representative Barbara Nash 
Phone: 512/463-0562
Email: barbara.nash@house.state.tx.us

Representative Beverly Woolley 
Phone: 512/463-0696
Email: beverly.woolley@house.state.tx.us

Representative Bil
l Zedler 
Phone: 512/463-0374
Email: bill.zedler@house.state.tx.us

Representative Borris Miles 
Phone: 512/463-0518
Email: borris.miles@house.state.tx.us

Representative Brandon Creighton  
Phone: 512/463-0726
Email: brandon.creighton@house.state.tx.us

Representative Bryan Hughes 
Phone: 512/463-0271
Email: bryan.hughes@house.state.tx.us

Representative Burt Solomons 
Phone: 512/463-0478
Email: burt.solomons@house.state.tx.us

Representative Byron Cook 
Phone: 512/463-0730
Email: byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Representative Carol Alvarado 
Phone: 512/463-0732
Email: carol.alvarado@house.state.tx.us

Representative Charles “Doc” Anderson 
Phone: 512/463-0135
Email: charles.anderson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Charles Perry 
Phone: 512/463-0542
Email: charles.perry@house.state.tx.us

Representative Charles Schwertner 
Phone: 512/463-0309
Email: charles.schwertner@house.state.tx.us

Representative Charlie Geren 
Phone: 512/463-0610
Email: charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Representative Chente Quintanilla 
Phone: 512/463-0613
Email: chente.quintanilla@house.state.tx.us

Representative Chuck Hopson 
Phone: 512/463-0592
Email: chuck.hopson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Cindy Burkett 
Phone: 512/463-0464
Email: cindy.burkett@house.state.tx.us

Representative Connie Scott 
Phone: 512/463-0462
Email: connie.scott@house.state.tx.us

Representative Craig Eiland 
Phone: 512/463-0502
Email: craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dan Branch 
Phone: 512/463-0367
Email: dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dan Flynn 
Phone: 512/463-0880
Email: dan.flynn@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dan Huberty 
Phone: 512/463-0520
Email: dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us

Representative David Simpson 
Phone: 512/463-0750
Email: david.simpson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dawnna Dukes 
Phone: 512/463-0506
Email: dawnna.dukes@house.state.tx.us

Representative Debbie Riddle 
Phone: 512/463-0572
Email: debbie.riddle@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dee Margo 
Phone: 512/463-0728
Email: dee.margo@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dennis Bonnen 
Phone: 512/463-0564
Email: dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us

Representative Diane Patrick 
Phone: 512/463-0624
Email: diane.patrick@house.state.tx.us

Representative Donna Howard 
Phone: 512/463-0631
Email: donna.howard@house.state.tx.us

Representative Doug Miller 
Phone: 512/463-0325
Email: doug.miller@house.state.tx.us

Representative Drew Darby 
Phone: 512/463-0331
Email: drew.darby@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dwayne Bohac 
Phone: 512/463-0727
Email: dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us

Representative Eddie Lucio 
Phone: 512/463-0606
Email: eddie.lucio@house.state.tx.us

Representative Eddie Rodriguez 
Phone: 512/463-0674
Email: eddie.rodriguez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Elliot Naishtat 
Phone: 512/463-0668
Email: elliot.naishtat@house.state.tx.us

Representative Eric Johnson 
Phone: 512/463-0586
Email: eric.johnson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Erwin Cain 
Phone: 512/463-0650
Email: erwin.cain@house.state.tx.us

Representative Fred Brown 
Phone: 512/463-0698
Email: fred.brown@house.state.tx.us

Representative Gary Elkins 
Phone: 512/463-0722
Email: gary.elkins@house.state.tx.us

Representative Geanie Morrison 
Phone: 512/463-0456
Email: geanie.morrison@house.state.tx.us

Representative George Lavender 
Phone: 512/463-0692
Email: george.lavender@house.state.tx.us

Representative Harold Dutton 
Phone: 512/463-0510
Email: harold.dutton@house.state.tx.us

Representative Harvey Hilderbran 
Phone: 512/463-0536
Email: harvey.hilderbran@house.state.tx.us

Representative Helen Giddings 
Phone: 512/463-0953
Email: helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Representative Hubert Vo 
Phone: 512/463-0568
Email: hubert.vo@house.state.tx.us

Representative J.M. Lozano 
Phone: 512/463-0463
Email: jm.lozano@house.state.tx.us

Representative James White 
Phone: 512/463-0490
Email: james.white@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jason Isaac 
Phone: (512/463-0647
Email: jason.isaac@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jerry Madden 
Phone: 512/463-0544
Email: jerry.madden@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jessica Cristina Farrar 
Phone: 512/463-0620
Email: jessica.farrar@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Jackson 
Phone: 512/463-0468
Email: jim.jackson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Landtroop 
Phone: 512/463-0604
Email: jim.landtroop@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Lloyd Keffer 
Phone: 512/463-0656
Email: jim.keffer@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Murphy 
Phone: 512/463-0514
Email: jim.murphy@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Pitts 
Phone: 512/463-0516
Email: jim.pitts@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jimmie Don Aycock 
Phone: 512/463-0684
Email: jimmie.aycock@house.state.tx.us

Representative Joaquin Castro 
Phone: 512/463-0669
Email: joaquin.castro@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jodie Laubenberg 
Phone: 512/463-0186
Email: jodie.laubenberg@house.state.tx.us

Representative Joe Deshotel 
Phone: 512/463-0662
Email: joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us

Representative Joe Driver 
Phone: 512/463-0574
Email: joe.driver@house.state.tx.us

Representative Joe Farias 
Phone: 512/463-0714
Email: joe.farias@house.state.tx.us

Representative Joe Straus 
Phone: 512/463-1000
Email: joe.straus@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Davis 
Phone: 512/463-0734
Email: john.davis@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Frullo 
Phone: 512/463-0676
Email: john.frullo@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Garza 
Phone: 512/463-0269
Email: john.garza@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Otto 
Phone: 512/463-0570
Email: john.otto@house.state.tx.us

Representative John T. Smithee 
Phone: 512/463-0702
Email: john.smithee@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Zerwas 
Phone: 512/463-0657
Email: john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jose Aliseda 
Phone: 512/463-0645
Email: jose.aliseda@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jose Menendez 
Phone: 512/463-0634
Email: jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Kelly Hancock 
Phone: 512/463-0599
Email: kelly.hancock@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ken Legler 
Phone: 512/463-0460
Email: ken.legler@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ken Paxton 
Phone: 512/463-0356
Email: ken.paxton@house.state.tx.us

Representative Kenneth Sheets 
Phone: 512/463-0244
Email: kenneth.sheets@house.state.tx.us

Representative Lance Gooden 
Phone: 512/463-0458
Email: lance.gooden@house.state.tx.us

Representative Lanham Lyne 
Phone: 512/463-0534
Email: lanham.lyne@house.state.tx.us

Representative Larry Gonzales 
Phone: 512/463-0670
Email: larry.gonzales@house.state.tx.us

Representative Larry Phillips 
Phone: 512/463-0297
Email: larry.phillips@house.state.tx.us

Representative Larry Taylor 
Phone: 512/463-0729
Email: larry.taylor@house.state.tx.us

Representative Leo Berman 
Phone: 512/463-0584
Email: leo.berman@house.state.tx.us

Representative Linda Harper-Brown 
Phone: 512/463-0641
Email: linda.harperbrown@house.state.tx.us

Representative Lois Kolkhorst 
Phone: 512/463-0600
Email: loiskolkhorst@house.state.tx.us

Representative Lyle Larson 
Phone: 512/463-0646
Email: lyle.larson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Marc Veasey 
Phone: 512/463-0716
Email: marc.veasey@house.state.tx.us

Representative Marisa Marquez 
Phone: 512/463-0638
Email: marisa.marquez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Mark Shelton 
Phone: 512/463-0608
Email: mark.shelton@house.state.tx.us

Representative Mark Strama 
Phone: 512/463-0821
Email: mark.strama@house.state.tx.us

Representative Marva Beck 
Phone: 512/463-0508
Email: marva.beck@house.state.tx.us

Representative Mike Hamilton 
Phone: 512/463-0412
Email: mike.hamilton@house.state.tx.us

Representative Mike Villarreal 
Phone: 512/463-0532
Email: mike.villarreal@house.state.tx.us

Representative Myra Crownover 
Phone: 512/463-0582
Email: myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us

Representative Naomi Gonzalez 
Phone: 512/463-0622
Email: naomi.gonzalez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Paul Workman 
Phone: 512/463-0652
Email: paul.workman@house.state.tx.us

Representative Pete Gallego 
Phone: 512/463-0566
Email: pete.gallego@house.state.tx.us

Representative Phil King 
Phone: 512/463-0738
Email: phil.king@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rafael Anchia 
Phone: 512/463-0746
Email: rafael.anchia@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ralph Sheffield 
Phone: 512/463-0630
Email: ralph.sheffield@house.state.tx.us

Representative Randy Weber 
Phone: 512/463-0707
Email: randy.weber@house.state.tx.us

Representative Raul Torres 
Phone: 512/463-0484
Email: raul.torres@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rene Oliveira 
Phone: 512/463-0640
Email: rene.oliveira@house.state.tx.us

Representative Richard Raymond 
Phone: 512/463-0558
Email: richard.raymond@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rick Hardcastle 
Phone: 512/463-0526
Email: rick.hardcastle@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rob Eissler 
Phone: 512/463-0797
Email: rob.eissler@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rob Orr 
Phone: 512/463-0538
Email: rob.orr@house.state.tx.us

Representative Roberto Alonzo 
Phone: 512/463-0408
Email: roberto.alonzo@house.state.tx.us

Representative Rodney Anderson 
Phone: 512/463-0694
Email: rodney.anderson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Roland Gutierrez 
Phone: 512/463-0452
Email: roland.gutierrez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ron Reynolds 
Phone: 512/463-0494
Email: ron.reynolds@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ruth Jones McClendon 
Phone: 512/463-0708
Email: ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ryan Guillen 
Phone: 512/463-0416
Email: ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us

Representative Sarah Davis 
Phone: 512/463-0389
Email: sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us

Representative Scott Hochberg 
Phone: 512/463-0492
Email: scott.hochberg@house.state.tx.us

Representative Senfronia Paige Thompson 
Phone: 512/463-0720
Email: SenfroniaThompson@yahoo.com

Representative Sergio Munoz, Jr. 
Phone: 512/463-0704
Email: sergio.munoz@house.state.tx.us

Representative Sid Miller 
Phone: 512/463-0628
Email: sid.miller@house.state.tx.us

Representative Stefani Carter 
Phone: 512/463-0454
Email: stefani.carter@house.state.tx.us

Representative Susan King 
Phone: 512/463-0718
Email: susan.king@house.state.tx.us

Representative Sylvester Turner 
Phone: 512/463-0554
Email: sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tan Parker 
Phone: 512/463-0688
Email: tan.parker@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tim Kleinschmidt 
Phone: 512/463-0682
Email: tim.kleinschmidt@house.state.tx.us

Representative Todd Hunter 
Phone: 512/463-0672
Email: todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us

Representative Todd Smith  
Phone: 512/463-0522
Email: todd.smith@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tom Russell Craddick 
Phone: 512/463-0500
Email: tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tracy O. King 
Phone: 512/463-0194
Email: tracy.king@house.state.tx.us

Representative Trey Martinez Fischer 
Phone: 512/463-0616
Email: trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tryon Lewis 
Phone: 512/463-0546
Email: tryon.lewis@house.state.tx.us

Representative Van Taylor 
Phone: 512/463-0594
Email: van.taylor@house.state.tx.us

Representative Veronica Gonzales 
Phone: 512/463-0578
Email: veronica.gonzales@house.state.tx.us

Representative Vicki Truitt 
Phone: 512/463-0690
Email: vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us

Representative Walter Price 
Phone: 512/463-0470
Email: walter.price@house.state.tx.us

Representative Warren Chisum 
Phone: 512/463-0736
Email: warren.chisum@house.state.tx.us

Representative Wayne Smith 
Phone: 512/463-0733
Email: wayne.smith@house.state.tx.us

Representative Will Hartnett 
Phone: 512/463-0576
Email: will.hartnett@house.state.tx.us

Representative William “Bill” Callegari 
Phone: 512/463-0528
Email: bill.callegari@house.state.tx.us

Representative Yvonne Davis 
Phone: 512/463-0598
Email: yvonne.davis@house.state.tx.us
 
 

COMMENT