'Unreasonably loud' exhaust targeted by West Virginia bill

Angelo Van Bogart |

West Virginia Reintroduces Bill to Penalize Some Aftermarket Exhaust Systems

A bill (H.B. 2190) to provide that the noise from a motor vehicle exhaust system that has been deemed “disturbing or unreasonably loud” constitutes the crime of disturbing the peace has been reintroduced for consideration in the West Virginia State Legislature.  Under the bill, violators could be fined up to $1,000 per occurrence, jailed for six months, or both.  Meanwhile, legislation (H.B. 2456) that would allow West Virginia’s vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket modified exhaust systems that meet a 95-decibel limit under a fair and predictable test was also introduced in the West Virginia State Legislature. 

We Urge You to Contact House Judiciary Committee Members (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2190 and Support for  H.B. 2456

H.B. 2190 does not supply law enforcement with an enforcement standard, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether an exhaust system is “disturbing or unreasonably loud.”
H.B. 2190 fails to recognize that a better way to address this issue is by establishing a fair and reasonable exhaust noise decibel limit.  
H.B. 2190 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
H.B. 2190 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
H.B. 2190 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Judiciary Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 2190 and support for H.B. 2456. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Tim Miley
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Email: tim.miley@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Mark Hunt
Phone: (304) 340-3392
Email: mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem
Phone: (304) 340-3394
Email: ellem@wirefire.com

Delegate Patrick Lane
Phone: (304) 340-3275
Email: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: (304) 340-3149
Email: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown
Phone: (304) 340-3106
Email: bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo
Phone: (304) 340-3249
Email: mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro
Phone: (304) 340-3111
Email: mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer
Phone: (304) 340-3169
Email: barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John R. Frazier
Phone: (304) 340-3396
Email:  jfrazier@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
Email: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny
Phone: 304/340-3139
Email: mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: 304/340-3340
Email: Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore
Phone: 304/340-3189
Email: cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Pino
Phone: 304/340-3170
Email: john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore
Phone: 304/340-3248
Email:  meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr.
Phone: 304/340-3362
Email: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: 304/340-3287
Email: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes
Phone: 304/340-3121
Email: troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton
Phone: 304/340-3167
Email: bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland
Phone: 304/340-3195
Email: woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller
Phone: 304/340-3176
Email: carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Miller J
Phone: 304/340-3147
Email: jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148
Email: john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R – Cabell)
Phone: (304) 340-3175
Email: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Leave a Reply