Under The Hood

Utah representatives pass bill to recognize vintage vehicles

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 
Utah House of Representatives Passes Bill to Classify Vehicles 30 Years Old and Older as “Vintage Vehicles”; Bill Now Moves to Senate 
 
Legislation (H.B. 221) to allow vehicles 30 years old and older to be classified as “vintage vehicles” was approved by the Utah House of Representatives.  Currently, Utah reserves the “vintage vehicle” class only to vehicles 40 years old and older.  Under the bill, “vintage vehicles” 30 – 40 years old would be charged a $45 annual registration fee.  When the vehicle reaches 40 years old, the registrant would pay a one-time $40 fee.  Vintage vehicles are exempted from annual emissions and safety inspections.  The bill now moves to the Senate Rules Committee for consideration.   
 
We Urge You to Contact Members of the Utah Senate Rules Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 221
 
·         Utah exempts vehicles manufactured prior to 1968 from emissions inspections.  Vehicles manufactured after that date must be registered as “vintage vehicles” or “customs” to qualify for this exemption.
 
·       H.B. 221 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of older vehicles, such as the vintage vehicles targeted for inclusion in the “vintage vehicle” exemption.   
 
H.B. 221 recognizes that such vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained and infrequently operated.
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Utah Senate Rules Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 221. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.
 
Utah Senate Rules Committee

 
Senator Margaret Dayton, Chair
Phone: 801/221-0623
Email: mdayton@utahsenate.org
 
Senator D. Chris Buttars
Phone: 801/561-0535
Email: dcbuttars@utahsenate.org
 
Senator Patricia W. Jones
Phone: 801/322-5722
Email: pjones@utahsenate.org
 
Senator Peter C. Knudson
Phone: 435/723-6366
Email: pknudson@utahsenate.org
 
Senator Daniel R. Liljenquist
Phone: 801/294-2378
Email: dliljenquist@utahsenate.org 
 
Senator Mark B. Madsen
Phone: 801/361-4787
Email: mmadsen@utahsenate.org
 
Senator Karen Mayne
Phone: 801/968-7756
Email: kmayne@utahsenate.org
 
Senator. Kevin T. Van Tassell
Phone: 435/789-7082
Email: kvantassell@utahsenate.org

COMMENT