W.Va. bills would lower tax assessment of antique vehicles

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA legislative update:

West Virginia Bills to Lower Personal Property Tax Assessments on Antique Motor Vehicles
 

Identical bills (H.B. 2407/2449) in the West Virginia Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with a fair and equitable personal property tax assessment have been introduced and referred to the House Roads and Transportation Committee.  The bills seek to address recent unfair valuation practices which have negatively impacted many West Virginia hobbyists.        
 
We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2407/H.B. 2449
 
West Virginia law defines an “Antique motor vehicle” to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector’s item.

H.B. 2407 and H.B. 2449 provide that for the purposes of the property tax, the assessed value of an antique vehicle cannot exceed $200.  
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2407 and H.B. 2449. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!  Thank you for your assistance.
 
West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee
 
Delegate Dale Martin  – Chair
Phone: 304/340-3134
Email: dale.martin@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers – Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3197
Email: margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles – Minority Chair
Phone: 304/340-3177
Email: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Allen Evans – Minority Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3399
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: 304/340-3149
Email: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: 304/340-3220
Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone: 304/340-3113
Email: gbutcher@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Thomas Campbell
Phone: 304/340-3280
Email: tcampbell@grcs.com
 
Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone: 304/340-3188
Email: gcrosier@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Joe Elington
Phone: 304/340-3172
Email: joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: 304/340-3179
Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone: 304/340-3119
Email: djhall@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: 304/340-3191
Email: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate K. Steven Kominar
Phone: 304/340-3186
Email: kominar@verizon.net
 
Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: 304/340-3340
Email: Harold@hardynet.com
 
Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: 304/340-3181
Email: nelson@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Amanda Pasdon
Phone: 304/340-3153
Email: amanda.pasdon@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Brian Savilla
Phone: 304/340-3141
Email: brian.savilla@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: 304/340-3362
Email: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone: 304/340-3123
Email: peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Rick Snuffer
Phone: 304/340-3183
Email: rick.snuffer@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: 304/340-3395
Email: DelegateStephens@comcast.net
 
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: 304/340-3384
Email: jstowers@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate David Walker
Phone: 304/340-3135
Email: dwalker@mail.wvnet.edu
 
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: 304/340-3287
Email: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Leave a Reply