Washington state bill exempting restoration & custom shops from estimate requirement moves to house

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA Action Network update

Senate Passes Washington State Bill to Exempt Restoration and Custom Shops From Written Estimate Requirement; Moves Next to House 

A SEMA-supported bill (S.B. 6005) to exempt restoration and custom shops from the requirement that they provide written estimates for the repair of any vehicle that qualifies for a “horseless carriage” or “collector vehicle” license plate, or is a “parts car,” “street rod” or “custom vehicle” was approved by the Washington State Senate and now moves to the House for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Business & Financial Services Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for S.B. 6005

S.B. 6005 would allow restoration and custom shops to bill at least every two weeks on a time & materials basis.  Shops would be able to accurately inform customers of actual costs and materials, removing vagueness associated with shops attempting to “guess” probable time for unique tasks and probable costs for unique, and in some cases, yet to be fabricated, parts.

Under Washington law, a “Horseless Carriage” is a vehicle that is more than forty years old and owned and operated as a collector vehicle; a “Collector Vehicle”  is any motor vehicle that is more than thirty years old; a “Custom Vehicle” is any  motor vehicle that is at least thirty years old and of a model year after 1948 or was manufactured to resemble a vehicle at least thirty years old and of a model year after 1948 and has alterations to one or more of the major component parts; a “Parts Car” is a motor vehicle that is owned by a collector to furnish parts for restoration or maintenance; and a “Street Rod” is a motor vehicle that is a 1948 or older vehicle or the vehicle was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle manufactured before 1949 and has alterations to one or more of the major component parts.
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Washington House Business & Financial Services Committee immediately to request their support of S.B. 6005.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

Washington House Business & Financial Services Committee

To e-mail all members of the Washington House Business & Financial Services Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov; troy.kelley@leg.wa.gov; barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov; Vincent.Buys@leg.wa.gov; brian.blake@leg.wa.gov; cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov; zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov; christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov; joel.kratz@leg.wa.gov; pedersen.jamie@leg.wa.gov; ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov; cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov; derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Kirby (Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7996
Email: steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Troy Kelley (Vice Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7890
Email: troy.kelley@leg.wa.gov

Representative Barbara Bailey (Ranking Minority Member)
Phone: (360) 786-7914
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Vincent Buys (Assistant Ranking Minority Member)
Phone: (360) 786-7854
Email: Vincent.Buys@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brian Blake
Phone: (360) 786-7870
Email: brian.blake@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cary Condotta
Phone: (360) 786-7954
Email: cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov

Representative Zack Hudgins
Phone: (360) 786-7956
Email: zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Christopher Hurst
Phone: (360) 786-7866
Email: christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joel Jretz
Phone: (360) 786-7988
Email: joel.kratz@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jamie Pedersen
Phone: (360) 786-7826
Email: pedersen.jamie@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers
Phone: (360) 786-7850
Email: ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cindy Ryu
Phone: (360) 786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Representative Derek Stanford
Phone: (360) 786-7928
Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

Leave a Reply