Under The Hood

Washington Street Rod & Custom Bill Moves to House

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)

Washington Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill

Approved by Senate; Moves to House    

SEMA model legislation to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles was approved unanimously by the Washington State Senate and now moves to the House Transportation Committee for consideration.  The bill (S.B. 5585) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 30 years old and manufactured after 1948.  Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.       

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Washington House Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5585

• S.B. 5585 provides specific registration and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas. 
• S.B. 5585 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
• S.B. 5585 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.
• S.B. 5585 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.
• S.B. 5585 permits the use of blue dot taillights.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Washington House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for S.B. 5585. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

House Transportation Committee 

Representative Judy Clibborn – Chair
Phone: 360/786-7926
Email: judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Andy Billig – Vice Chair 
Phone: 360/786-7888
Email: andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

Representative Marko Liias  – Vice Chair 
Phone: 360/786-7972
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Armstrong
Phone: 360/786-7832
Email: mike.armstrong@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jan Angel
Phone: 360/786-7964
Email: jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Representative Katrina Asay
Phone: 360/786-7830
Email: katrina.asay@leg.wa.gov
 
Representative Deb Eddy
Phone: 360/786-7848
Email: deb.eddy@leg.wa.gov

Representative Fred Finn
Phone: 360/786-7902
Email: fred.finn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon
Phone: 360/786-7952
Email: joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Hargrove
Phone: 360/786-7918
Email: mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Laurie Jinkins
Phone: 360/786-7930
Email: laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Norm Johnson 
Phone: 360/786-7810
Email: norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert
Phone: 360/786-7882
Email: brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dan Kristiansen
Phone: 360/786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Connie Ladenburg
Phone: 360/786-7906
Email: connie.ladenburg@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim McCune 
Phone: 360/786-7824
Email: jim.mccune@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim Moeller
Phone: 360/786-7872
Email: jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeff Morris
Phone: 360/786-7970
Email: jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov

Representative Luis Moscoso
Phone: 360/786-7900
Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jason Overstreet
Phone: 360/786-7980
Email: jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov

Representative Chris Reykdal
Phone: 360/786-7940
Email: chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers
Phone: 360/786-7850
Email: ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne
Phone: 360/786-7852
Email: jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Christine Rolfes
Phone: 360/786-7842
Email: christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cindy Ryu
Phone: 360/786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea
Phone: 360/786-7984
Email: matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dean Takko
Phone: 360/786-7806
Email: dean.takko@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dave Upthegrove
Phone: 360/786-7868
Email: dave.upthegrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Hans Zeiger
Phone: 360/786-7968
Email: hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov

COMMENT