West Virginia may lower personal taxes on antique vehicles

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 
West Virginia Bill to Lower Personal Property Taxes on Antique Motor Vehicles Approved by Transportation Committee; Moves to Finance
 
Legislation (H.B. 2449) in the West Virginia Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with a fair and equitable personal property tax assessment was approved by the House Roads and Transportation Committee.  The bills seek to address recent unfair valuation practices which have negatively impacted many West Virginia hobbyists.  The bill now moves to the House Finance Committee for consideration.        
 
We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Finance Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2449
 
West Virginia law defines an “Antique motor vehicle” to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector’s item.
 
H.B. 2449 provides that for the purposes of the property tax, the assessed value of an antique vehicle cannot exceed $200. 
 
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Finance Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2449. 
 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. Thank you for your assistance.
 
West Virginia House Finance Committee
 
Delegate Harry Keith White – Chair
Phone: 304/340-3230
Email: hkwhite@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Thomas W. Campbell – Vice-Chair 
Phone: 304/340-3280
Email: tcampbell@grcs.com
 
Delegate William Anderson – Minority Chair
Phone: 304/340-3168
Email: bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Mitch Carmichael – Minority Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3115
Email: mitch.carmichael@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate John Doyle
Phone: 304/340-3184
Email: johndoyle@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie
Phone: 304/340-3156
Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov  
 
Delegate Richard J. Iaquinta
Phone: 304/340-3161
Email: richard.iaquinta@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate K. Steven Kominar
Phone: 304/340-3186
Email: stevekominar@aol.com
 
Delegate Virginia Mahan
Phone: 304/340-3102
Email: virginia.mahan@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Tim Manchin
Phone: 304/340-3166
Email: tmanchin@manchin-aloi.com
 
Delegate Charlene Marshall
Phone: 304/340-3900
Email: charlene.marshall@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Don Perdue
Phone: 304/340-3269
Email: don.perdue@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Linda Goode Phillips
Phone: 304/340-3163
Email: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov  
 
Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: 304/340-3137
Email: dan.poling@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Mary M. Poling
Phone: 304/340-3265
Email: mary.poling@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Doug Reynolds
Phone: 304/340-3199
Email: delegatedoug@yahoo.com
 
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: 304/340-3384
Email: josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Scott Varner
Phone: 304/340-3187
Email: scott.varner@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Larry A. Williams
Phone: 304/340-3081
Email: larry.williams@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Bob Ashley
Phone: 304/340-3185
Email: bob.ashley@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Larry Border
Phone: 304/340-3136
Email: larry.border@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Ray Canterbury
Phone: 304/340-3131
Email: ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: 304/340-3177
Email: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Allen Evans
Phone: 304/340-3399 
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Ron Walters
Phone: 304/340-3194
Email: ron.walters@wvhouse.gov

COMMENT