Under The Hood

West Virginia reintroduces bill to increase tax on some collector cars

West Virginia Reintroduces Bill to Increase Property Taxes on
Many Antique Motor Vehicles

SEMA Action Network Update:

A bill (H.B. 2503) to increase property taxes paid by owners of antique motor vehicles was reintroduced in the West Virginia legislature. Under the bill, each of these cars would have an assessed value of $5,000 for purposes of the tax regardless of their actual value. This bill now only benefits antique vehicle owners whose cars are worth more than $5,000. It would penalize antique vehicle owners whose cars are worth less than $5,000. The bill will be considered by the House Roads and Transportation Committee. (West Virginia law defines an “Antique motor vehicle” to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector’s item.)

The SEMA Action Network Urges You to Contact All Members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion on H.B. 2503

DON’T DELAY!

Please contact the House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to voice your opinion on H.B. 2503. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby!

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov; george.ambler@wvhouse.gov; karen.arvon@wvhouse.gov; jim.butler@wvhouse.gov; scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov; paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov; allen.evans@wvhouse.gov; david.evans@wvhouse.gov; tom.fast@wvhouse.gov; gary.howell@wvhouse.gov; michel.moffatt@wvhouse.gov; matthew.rohrbach@wvhouse.gov; joe.statler@wvhouse.gov; amy.summers@wvhouse.gov; danny.wagner@wvhouse.gov; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov; rmoyewvhouse@yahoo.com; delegatedoug@yahoo.com; delegatepeggysmith@msn.com; isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov; patsy.trecost@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart (Chair) Phone: (304) 340-3179 Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov Delegate Danny Hamrick (Vice-Chair) Phone: (304) 340-3141 Email: danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov Delegate Linda Phillips Phone: (304) 340-3163 Email: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Nancy Guthrie Phone: (304) 340-3156 Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov
Delegate George Ambler Phone: (304) 340-3129 Email: george.ambler@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Lynne Arvon Phone: (304) 340-3384 Email: karen.arvon@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Jim Butler Phone: (304) 340-3199 Email: jim.butler@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Scott Cadle Phone: (304) 340-3118 Email: scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Paul Espinosa Phone: (304) 340-3130 Email: paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Allen Evans Phone: (304) 340-3399 Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov
Delegate David Evans Phone: (304) 340-3151 Email: david.evans@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Tom Fast Phone: (304) 340-3170 Email: tom.fast@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Gary Howell Phone: (304) 340-3192 Email: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Michel Moffatt Phone: (304) 340-3152 Email: michel.moffatt@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Matthew Rohrbach Phone: (304) 340-3221 Email: matthew.rohrbach@wvhouse.gov Delegate Joe Statler Phone: (304) 340-3900 Email: joe.statler@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Amy Summers Phone: (304) 340-3139 Email: amy.summers@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Danny Wagner Phone: (304) 340-3398 Email: danny.wagner@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Brent Boggs Phone: (304) 340-3142 Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Linda Longstreth Phone: (304) 340-3124 Email: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Rick Moye Phone: (304) 340-3162 Email: rmoyewvhouse@yahoo.com
Delegate Doug Reynolds Phone: (304) 340-3280 Email: delegatedoug@yahoo.com
Delegate Peggy Smith Phone: (304) 340-3123 Email: delegatepeggysmith@msn.com
Delegate Isaac Sponaugle Phone: (304) 340-3154 Email: isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov
Delegate Patsy Trecost Phone: (304) 340-3102 Email: patsy.trecost@wvhouse.gov

COMMENT