Wyoming may increase registration fees

SEMA Action Network Update:

Wyoming Bill to Increase Registration Fees to be Considered by Committee on Friday, Jan. 25

Legislation (H.B. 70) to increase annual vehicle registration fees by $10 for passenger vehicles and double registration fees based on unladen vehicle weight for non-commercial trucks will be considered by the House Revenue Committee on Friday, January 25, 2013.  If you have not yet contacted committee members to voice your opposition, now is the time to do so.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Wyoming House Revenue Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 70
·     Under Wyoming law, “passenger car” means a motor vehicle designed to carry ten persons or less and primarily used to transport persons, including ambulances and hearses but excluding motorcycles, motor homes, multipurpose vehicles, trucks and school buses.

·     Non-commercial trucks subject to the doubled registration fees include personal pickup trucks.

H.B. 70 makes no special exception for antiques, custom vehicles or street rods that constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet, are infrequently operated and deserving of lower registration fees.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Wyoming House Revenue Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 70.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Wyoming House Revenue Committee
To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:
Mike.Madden@wyoleg.gov; Gregg.Blikre@wyoleg.gov; John.Eklund@wyoleg.gov; patrick.goggles@wyoleg.gov; Dan.Kirkbride@wyoleg.gov; Bunky.Loucks@wyoleg.gov; David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov; Ruth.Petroff@wyoleg.gov; Mark.Semlek@wyoleg.gov

Representative Michael Madden (Chair)
Phone: 307-684-9356
Email: Mike.Madden@wyoleg.gov

Representative Gregg Blikre
Phone: 307-686-3314
Email: Gregg.Blikre@wyoleg.gov

Representative John Eklund
Phone: 307-246-3251
Email: John.Eklund@wyoleg.gov

Representative Patrick Goggles
Phone: 307-332-5318
Email: patrick.goggles@wyoleg.gov

Representative Dan Kirkbride
Phone: 307-331-2265
Email: Dan.Kirkbride@wyoleg.gov

Representative Bunky Loucks
Phone: 307-259-0195
Email: Bunky.Loucks@wyoleg.gov

Representative David Northrup
Phone: 307-272-0617
Email: David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov

Representative Ruth Petroff
Phone: 307-734-9446
Email: Ruth.Petroff@wyoleg.gov

Representative Mark Semlek
Phone: 307-756-9294
Email: Mark.Semlek@wyoleg.gov

COMMENT