HERSHEY, Pa. _ The Antique Automobile Club of America’s Library & Research Center has scored a trio of new collections to add to it current extensive holdings of more than 1,500,000 automotive-related documents. The library is free and available to anyone worldwide. Its mission continues to be one of service to hobbyists, researchers and writers regardless of affiliation with the club or not.
The centerpiece of these new acquisitions is the donation by Amos Media Company of the library at the former Cars & Parts magazine. C & P traces its beginnings back to 1957. The extensive library was used by the staff throughout its long publishing history. According to Bruce Boyd, president of Amos Media Company, “We chose to donate our collection to the AACA Library as it ensures that the work of our wonderful staff over the years will continue to support the collectible vehicle hobby. This library is unique in its ability to help people worldwide as it has state-of-the-art library technology and an amazing professional staff that will preserve the materials for the future. While it was sad to end the storied run of Cars & Parts we are most happy to know that the AACA Library will continue to honor our brand.”
Another collection that has made its way to the library was donated by AACA member Mark Theisen. During his long-time association with antique cars, Theisen managed to amass a sizable library that filled a car trailer and then some. The collection includes rare books and brochures that will be valuable to researchers, especially those with an interest in Midwest racing.
Another eclectic collection is working its way to the library to be added to previous material they have from the Fisher Body Craftsman Guild.
AACA Library & Research Center