Bill exempting vintage vehicle businesses from estimate requirements moves to Washington state senate

Angelo Van Bogart |

SEMA Action Network update

While you’re writing to your state senator, Washingtonians, be sure to request support for restoration and custom shops.

Rules Committee Approves Washington State Bill to Exempt Restoration and Custom Shops From Written Estimate Requirement; Moves Next to Senate Floor  

A SEMA-supported bill (S.B. 6005) to exempt restoration and custom shops from the requirement that they provide written estimates for the repair of any vehicle that qualifies for a “horseless carriage” or “collector vehicle” license plate, or is a “parts car,” “street rod” or “custom vehicle” was approved by the Washington State Senate Rules Committee, clearing its way for a vote by all members on the Senate floor.  The bill must be voted on before Wednesday, Feb. 15 if it is to have any chance to be considered this year in the Washington House of Representatives!

We Urge You to Contact All Senate Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for S.B. 6005

S.B. 6005 would allow restoration and custom shops to bill at least every two weeks on a time & materials basis.  Shops would be able to accurately inform customers of actual costs and materials, removing vagueness associated with shops attempting to “guess” probable time for unique tasks and probable costs for unique, and in some cases, yet to be fabricated, parts.
Under Washington law, a “Horseless Carriage” is a vehicle that is more than forty years old and owned and operated as a collector vehicle; a “Collector Vehicle”  is any motor vehicle that is more than thirty years old; a “Custom Vehicle” is any  motor vehicle that is at least thirty years old and of a model year after 1948 or was manufactured to resemble a vehicle at least thirty years old and of a model year after 1948 and has alterations to one or more of the major component parts; a “Parts Car” is a motor vehicle that is owned by a collector to furnish parts for restoration or maintenance; and a “Street Rod” is a motor vehicle that is a 1948 or older vehicle or the vehicle was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle manufactured before 1949 and has alterations to one or more of the major component parts.
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Washington State Senate immediately to request their support of S.B. 6005.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

To e-mail all members of the Washington State Senate, copy and paste the email address block below:

michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov; Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov; Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov; Lisa.Brown@leg.wa.gov; mike.carrell@leg.wa.gov; Maralyn.Chase@leg.wa.gov; Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov; delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov; delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov; Tracey.Eide@leg.wa.gov; doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov; joe.fain@leg.wa.gov; Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov; David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov; David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov; Jim.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov; Nick.Harper@leg.wa.gov; Brian.Hatfield@leg.wa.gov; MaryMargaret.Haugen@leg.wa.gov; Hewitt.Mike@leg.wa.gov; andy.hill@leg.wa.gov; Steve.Hobbs@leg.wa.gov; holmquist.janea@leg.wa.gov; honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov; Jim.Kastama@leg.wa.gov; Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov; Derek.Kilmer@leg.wa.gov; Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov; Adam.Kline@leg.wa.gov; Jeanne.Kohl-Welles@leg.wa.gov; Steve.Litzow@leg.wa.gov; Rosemary.McAuliffe@leg.wa.gov; morton.bob@leg.wa.gov; Edward.Murray@leg.wa.gov; sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov; mike.padden@leg.wa.gov; LindaEvans.Parlette@leg.wa.gov; cheryl.pflug@leg.wa.gov; Margarita.Prentice@leg.wa.gov; pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov; Kevin.Ranker@leg.wa.gov; Debbie.Regala@leg.wa.gov; roach.pam@leg.wa.gov; Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov; schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov; schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov; Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov; paull.shin@leg.wa.gov; Val.Stevens@leg.wa.gov; swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov; Rodney.Tom@leg.wa.gov; zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov

Washington State Senate

Senator Michael Baumgartner
Phone: (360) 786-7610
Email: michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov

Senator Randi Becker
Phone: (360) 786-7602
Email: Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov

Senator Don Benton
Phone: (360) 786-7632
Email: Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov

Senator Lisa Brown
Phone: (360) 786-7604
Email: Lisa.Brown@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Carrell
Phone: (360) 786-7654
Email: mike.carrell@leg.wa.gov

Senator Maralyn Chase
Phone: (360) 786-7662
Email: Maralyn.Chase@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Conway
Phone: (360) 786-7656
Email: Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jerome Delvin
Phone: (360) 786-7614
Email: delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tracey Eide
Phone: (360) 786-7658
Email: Tracey.Eide@leg.wa.gov

Senator Doug Ericksen
Phone: (360) 786-7682
Email: doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe Fain
Phone: (360) 786-7692
Email: joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Fraser
Phone: (360) 786-7642
Email: Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov

Senator David Frockt
Phone: (360) 786-7690
Email: David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov

Senator James Hargrove
Phone: (360) 786-7646
Email: Jim.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Senator Nick Harper
Phone: (360) 786-7674
Email: Nick.Harper@leg.wa.gov

Senator Brian Hatfield
Phone: (360) 786-7636
Email: Brian.Hatfield@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mary Margaret Haugen
Phone: (360) 786-7618
Email: MaryMargaret.Haugen@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Hewitt
Phone: (360) 786-7630
E-mail: Hewitt.Mike@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Hill
Phone: (360) 786-7672
Email: andy.hill@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Hobbs
Phone: (360) 786-7686
Email: Steve.Hobbs@leg.wa.gov

Senator Janéa Holmquist Newbry
Phone: (360) 786-7624
Email: holmquist.janea@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jim Honeyford
Phone: (360) 786-7684
Email: honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jim Kastama
Phone: (360) 786-7648
Email: Jim.Kastama@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Keiser
Phone: (360) 786-7664
Email: Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov

Senator Derek Kilmer
Phone: (360) 786-7650
Email: Derek.Kilmer@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King
Phone: (360) 786-7626
Email: Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov

Senator Adam Kline
Phone: (360) 786-7688
Email: Adam.Kline@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles
Phone: (360) 786-7670
Email: Jeanne.Kohl-Welles@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Litzow
Phone: (360) 786-7641
Email: Steve.Litzow@leg.wa.gov

Senator Rosemary McAuliffe
Phone: (360) 786-7600
Email: Rosemary.McAuliffe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Bob Morton
Phone: (360) 786-7612
Email: morton.bob@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ed Murray
Phone: (360) 786-7628
Email: Edward.Murray@leg.wa.gov

Senator Sharon Nelson
Phone: (360) 786-7667
Email: sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Padden
Phone: (360) 786-7606
Email: mike.padden@leg.wa.gov

Senator Linda Evans Parlette
Phone: (360) 786-7622
Email: LindaEvans.Parlette@leg.wa.gov

Senator Cheryl Pflug
Phone: (360) 786-7608
Email: cheryl.pflug@leg.wa.gov

Senator Margarita Prentice
Phone :( 360) 786-7616
Email: Margarita.Prentice@leg.wa.gov

Senator Craig Pridemore
Phone: (360) 786-7696
Email: pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kevin Ranker
Phone: (360) 786-7678
Email: Kevin.Ranker@leg.wa.gov

Senator Debbie Regala
Phone: (360) 786-7652
Email: Debbie.Regala@leg.wa.gov

Senator Pam Roach
Phone: (360) 786-7660
Email: roach.pam@leg.wa.gov

Senator Christine Rolfes
Phone: (360) 786-7644
Email: Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Schoesler
Phone: (360) 786-7620
Email: schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tim Sheldon
Phone: (360) 786-7668
Email: Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov

Senator Paull Shin
Phone: (360) 786-7640
Email: paull.shin@leg.wa.gov

Senator Val Stevens
Phone: (360) 786-7676
Email: Val.Stevens@leg.wa.gov

Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: (360) 786-7638
Email: swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov

Senator Rodney Tom
Phone: (360) 786-7694
Email: Rodney.Tom@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joseph Zarelli
Phone: (360) 786-7634
Email: zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov

One Response to Bill exempting vintage vehicle businesses from estimate requirements moves to Washington state senate

  1. Harland Lippold says:

    Update: SSB 6005 has passed in the Washington State Senate, with a vote of 47 for, 0 against, and 2 excused. One of the two excused was the prime sponsor of the bill, so calling the vote unanimous is safe. The bill has been passed to the House of Representatives. Its public hearing was Friday, February 17, 2012. Nine people from across Washington attended in favor of the bill; four testified, and there were none opposed to the bill present. The bill is set for consideration by the House Business and Financial Services Committeeon Tuesday, February 21, after which it will move to the House Rules Committee. Please provide your support for this bill to all members of Washington’s House of Representatives immediately! This session of Washington’s legislature closes March 8, and bills not signed by that time are dead, despite unanimous approval.

Leave a Reply