Pro-Hobbyist ‘Show Car’ Bill Introduced in Pennsylvania

A version of SEMA model legislation (H.B. 2163) to create a vehicle registration classification for show cars, and provide for special license plates for these vehicles, was introduced and referred to the Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee for consideration. Introduced by State Representative Dan Surra (dsurra@pahouse.net), H.B. 2163 would permit show cars to be driven up to 5,000 per year and would exempt them from the state’s new enhanced vehicle inspection program.

    SEMA urges Pennsylvania hobbyists to contact all members of the House Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 2163.

    The bill would provide a specific registration class and license plates for show cars, would prevent show car owners from paying annual registration fees and allow show cars to be driven up to 5,000 miles per year. The bill does require show cars to pass an annual safety inspection performed at a certified Pennsylvania inspection station that complies with the National Street Rod Association’s vehicle safety inspection program. However, show cars would be exempt from enhanced vehicle inspections and inspections of emissions controls. The bill classifies show cars as those used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.

    For a list of Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee members and their contact information contact the office of Representative Joseph Markosek, committee chairman, at 717-705-1012 to gain his support and learn the contact information of other committee members.

Representative Joseph Markosek
Fax: 717/705-1891
Email: jmarkosek@pahouse.net

Representative Joseph Petrarca
Phone: 717/787-5142
Fax: 717/705-2014
Email: jpetrarc@pahouse.net

Representative Michael Gerber
Phone: 717/787-9475
Fax: 717/787-0861
Email: repgerber@pahouse.net

Representative John Sabatina
Phone: 717/772-4032
Fax: 717/783-1579
Email: jsabatin@pahouse.net

Representative Dante Santoni
Phone: 717/783-3290
Fax: 717/772-2943
Email: dsantoni@pahouse.net

Representative John Siptroth
Phone: 717/787-6492
Fax: 717/772-2943
Email: jsiptrot@pahouse.net

Representative Timothy Solobay
Phone: 717/787-1188
Fax: 717/705-1887
Email: tsolobay@pahouse.net

Representative Mike Carroll
Phone: 717/787-3589
Fax: 717/780-4763
Email: mcarroll@pahouse.net

Representative Paul Costa
Phone: 717/783-1914
Fax: 717/783-3180
Email: pcosta@pahouse.net

Representative Gary Haluska
Phone: 717/787-3532
Fax: 717/783-7548
Email: ghaluska@pahouse.net

Representative Mark Longietti
Phone: 717/772-4035
Fax: 717/780-4785
Email: mlongietti@pahouse.net

Representative Jennifer Mann
Phone: 717/705-1869
Fax: 717/705-2087
Email: jmann@pahouse.net

Representative Tony Payton
Phone: 717/787-1354
Fax: 717/780-4789
Email: tpayton@pahouse.net

Representative Chelsa Wagner
Phone: 717/783-1582
Fax: 717/780-4755
Email: repwagner@pahouse.net

Representative Jake Wheatley
Phone: 717/783-3783
Fax: 717/780-4753
Email: jwheatley@pahouse.net

Representative Edward Wojnaroski
Phone: 717/787-7524
Fax: 717/705-7001
Email: ewojnaro@pahouse.net

Representative Richard Geist
Phone: 717/787-6419
Fax: 717/772-5142
Email: rgeist@pahousegop.com

Representative John Evans
Phone: 717/772-9940
Fax: 717/772-7099
Email: jevans@pahousegop.com

Representative Kate Harper
Phone: 717/787-2801
Fax: 717/787-2022
Email: kharper@pahousegop.com

Representative John Maher
Phone: 717/783-1522
Fax: 717/783-8322
Email: jmaher@pahousegop.com

Representative Ron Miller
Phone: 717/783-8389
Fax: 717/705-2095
Email: rmiller@pahousegop.com

Representative Katharine Watson
Phone: 717/787-5452
Fax: 717/783-8934
Email: kwatson@pahousegop.com

Representative Dick Hess
Phone: 717/787-7076
Fax: 717/705-1855
Email: dhess@pahousegop.com

Representative David Hickernell
Phone: 717/783-2076
Fax: 717/705-1946
Email: dhickern@pahousegop.com

Representative Mark Keller
Phone: 717/783-1593
Fax: 717/705-7012
Email: mkeller@pahousegop.com

Representative Ron Marsico
Phone: 717/783-2014
Fax: 717/705-2010
Email: rmarsico@pahousegop.com

Representative Tina Pickett
Phone: 717/783-8238
Fax: 717/705-1949
Email: tpickett@pahousegop.com

Representative Jeffrey Pyle
Phone: 717/783-5327
Fax: 717/705-1921
Email: jpyle@pahousegop.com

Representative Mario Scavello
Phone: 717/787-7732
Fax: 717/705-1948
Email: mscavell@pahousegop.com

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org

COMMENT