Pro-hobby license plate bills introduced in New York, Massachusetts and Maryland

Pro-hobby license plate bills introduced in New York, Massachusetts and Maryland

Bills have been introduced in New York and Massachusetts that would require the display of a single license plate, while Maryland is working to offer a reproduction license plate with the colors of the black-and-yellow 1910 plate.

The single license plate bill in both states is favored in the hobby for aesthetic reasons, according to the SEMA Action Network. The New York bill (A.B. 3824) and the Massachusetts bill (S.B. 1637) “would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some fabricated and original bumpers.” It would also save state financial resources, as only one plate would need to be created.

Maryland Legislation (H.B. 977) would require the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to provide, for one year, a specially designed vintage reproduction registration plate to qualifying vehicles. Under the bill, to be eligible to receive a vintage reproduction registration plate, the vehicle must be a Class A (passenger), Class E (small truck), Class L (historic), Class M (multipurpose), or Class N (street rod) vehicle. The vintage reproduction plate would be designed to resemble the 1910 Maryland registration plate, which has black lettering on a yellow background. The bill requires MVA to set initial registration and renewal fees. The bill will soon be considered by the House of Delegates.

To support these bills, contact your legislators immediately. (See below for NY, Massachusetts and Maryland legislator contact info.)

 New York A.B. 3824: Single license plate

Legislation (A.B. 3824) has been introduced in New York to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.  The bill, favored by state hobbyists, requires that the single registration plate be attached on the front of tractors and on the rear of all other vehicles.  The bill has been referred to the Assembly Transportation Committee for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for A.B. 3824

•                A.B. 3824 would save money, conserve resources and bring New York in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.

•               A.B. 3824 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some fabricated and original bumpers.

 Massachusetts S.B. 1637: Single license plate

Legislation (S.B. 1637) has been introduced in Massachusetts to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.  The bill, favored by state hobbyists, requires that the single registration plate be attached on the rear of applicable motor vehicles.  The bill will be considered by the Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Joint Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 1637

•                S.B. 1637 would save money, conserve resources and bring Massachusetts in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.

•               S.B. 1637 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some fabricated and original bumpers.

Maryland H.B. 977: Reproduction license plates

Legislation (H.B. 977) to require the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to provide, for one year, a specially designed vintage reproduction registration plate to qualifying vehicle owners is moving through the legislative process in Maryland.  Under the bill, to be eligible to receive a vintage reproduction registration plate, the vehicle must be a Class A (passenger), Class E (small truck), Class L (historic), Class M (multipurpose), or Class N (street rod) vehicle. The vintage reproduction plate would be designed to resemble the 1910 Maryland registration plate, which has black lettering on a yellow background. The bill requires MVA to set initial registration and renewal fees.  The bill will soon be considered by the entire House of Delegates.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Maryland House of Delegates (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 977

•                H.B. 977 would bring a retro look to modern license plates by allowing consumers to use the reproduction 1910 plates.

•                H.B. 977 would give consumers a new option on the license plates to use on their vehicles and provide historic car owners a voluntary means to acquire new plates that match the vintage look of their vehicles.

•               H.B. 977 estimates that the additional cost to obtain the plates would be $20 and would take effect January 1, 2014.

New York Assembly Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us; BorelliJ@assembly.state.ny.us; braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us; bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us; CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us; cusickm@assembly.state.ny.us; DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us; DiPietroD@assembly.state.ny.us; GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us; HennesseyE@assembly.state.ny.us; LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us; LupinacciC@assembly.state.ny.us; MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us; malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us; McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us; millmaj@assembly.state.ny.us; NojayW@assembly.state.ny.us; perryn@assembly.state.ny.us; reilicw@assembly.state.ny.us; RobertsS@assembly.state.ny.us; SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us; skartadosf@assembly.state.ny.us; SkoufisJ@assembly.state.ny.us; SteckP@assembly.state.ny.us; ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us; weisenbergh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David Gantt (Chair)
Phone: 518-455-5606
Email: GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Joseph Borelli
Phone: 518-455-4495
Email: BorelliJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Edward Braunstein
Phone: 518-455-5425
Email: braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Harry Bronson
Phone: 518-455-4527
Email: bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Marcos Crespo
Phone: 518-455-5514
Email: CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael Cusick
Phone: 518-455-5526
Email: cusickm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael DenDekker
Phone: 518-455-4545
Email: DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David DiPietro
Phone: 518-455-5314
Email: DiPietroD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Dennis Gabryszak
Phone: 518-455-5921
Email: GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Edward Hennessey
Phone: 518-455-4901
Email: HennesseyE@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Donna Lupardo
Phone: 518-455-5431
Email: LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Chad Lupinacci
Phone: 518-455-5732
Email: LupinacciC@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Alan Maisel
Phone: 518-455-5211
Email: MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Nicole Malliotakis
Phone: 518-455-5716
Email: malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David McDonough
Phone: 518-455-4633
Email: McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Joan Millman
Phone: 518-455-5426
Email: millmaj@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Bill Nojay
Phone: 518-455-5662
Email: NojayW@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember N. Nick Perry
Phone: 518-455-4166
Email: perryn@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Bill Reilich
Phone: 518-455-4664
Email: reilicw@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Samuel Roberts
Phone: 518-455-5383
Email: RobertsS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michelle Schimel
Phone: 518-455-5192
Email: SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Frank Skartados
Phone: 518-455-5762
Email: skartadosf@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember James Skoufis
Phone: 518-455-5441
Email: SkoufisJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Phil Steck
Phone: 518-455-5931
Email: SteckP@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Fred Thiele, Jr.
Phone: 518-455-5997
Email: ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Harvey Weisenberg
Phone: 518-455-3028
Email: weisenbergh@assembly.state.ny.us
Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov; William.Straus@mahouse.gov; Thomas.P.Kennedy@masenate.gov; John.Mahoney@mahouse.gov; Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov; Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov; Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov; Michael.Moore@masenate.gov; Mike.Rush@masenate.gov; John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov; Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov; Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov; Christopher.Markey@mahouse.gov; Chris.Walsh@mahouse.gov; Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov; Danielle.Gregoire@mahouse.gov; Gailanne.Cariddi@mahouse.gov; Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov; Jerald.Parisella@mahouse.gov; steven.howitt@mahouse.gov

Senator Thomas McGee (Senate Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1350
Email: Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov

Representative Williams Straus (House Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Email: William.Straus@mahouse.gov

Senator Thomas Kennedy (Senate Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1200
Email: Thomas.P.Kennedy@masenate.gov

Representative John Mahoney (House Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Email: John.Mahoney@mahouse.gov

Senator Gale Candaras
Phone: 617-722-1291
Email: Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov

Senator Marc Pacheco
Phone: 617-722-1551
Email: Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov

Senator Robert Hedlund
Phone: 617-722-1646
Email: Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov

Senator Michael Moore
Phone: 617-722-1485
Email: Michael.Moore@masenate.gov

Senator Michael Rush
Phone: 617-722-1348
Email: Mike.Rush@masenate.gov

Representative John Fernandes
Phone: 617-722-2220
Email: John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov

Representative Timothy Madden
Phone: 617-722-2810
Email: Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov

Representative Mark Cusack
Phone: 617-722-2637
Email: Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov

Representative Christopher Markey
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Christopher.Markey@mahouse.gov

Representative Chris Walsh
Phone: 617-722-2013
Email: Chris.Walsh@mahouse.gov

Representative Peter Durant
Phone: 617-722-2060
Email: Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov

Representative Danielle Gregoire
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: Danielle.Gregoire@mahouse.gov

Representative Gailanne Cariddi
Phone: 617-722-2450
Email: Gailanne.Cariddi@mahouse.gov

Representative Michael Finn
Phone: 617-722-2637
Email: Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov

Representative Jerald Parisella
Phone: 617-722-2877
Email: Jerald.Parisella@mahouse.gov

Representative Steven Howitt
Phone: 617-722-2305
steven.howitt@mahouse.gov

Maryland House of Delegates

To e-mail all House members, copy and paste the email address block below:

kathy.afzali@house.state.md.us; curt.anderson@house.state.md.us; sam.arora@house.state.md.us; susan.aumann@house.state.md.us; charles.barkley@house.state.md.us; ben.barnes@house.state.md.us; kumar.barve@house.state.md.us; gail.bates@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; wendell.beitzel@house.state.md.us; elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us; john.bohanan@house.state.md.us; joseph.boteler@house.state.md.us; talmadge.branch@house.state.md.us; aisha.braveboy@house.state.md.us; eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us; emmett.burns@house.state.md.us; michael.busch@house.state.md.us; rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us; jon.cardin@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; jill.carter@house.state.md.us; galen.clagett@house.state.md.us; luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us; john.cluster@house.state.md.us; frank.conaway@house.state.md.us; norman.conway@house.state.md.us; bob.costa@house.state.md.us; bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us; dereck.davis@house.state.md.us; steven.deboy@house.state.md.us; john.donoghue@house.state.md.us; kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us; don.dwyer@house.state.md.us; adelaide.eckardt@house.state.md.us; donald.elliott@house.state.md.us; brian.feldman@house.state.md.us; mark.fisher@house.state.md.us; william.frank@house.state.md.us; bill.frick@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us; ron.george@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; glen.glass@house.state.md.us; melony.griffith@house.state.md.us; ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us; guy.guzzone@house.state.md.us; jeannie.haddaway@house.state.md.us; peter.hammen@house.state.md.us; nina.harper@house.state.md.us; hattie.harrison@house.state.md.us; keith.haynes@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; steve.hershey@house.state.md.us; sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us; patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; michael.hough@house.state.md.us; carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us; james.hubbard@house.state.md.us; tom.hucker@house.state.md.us; rick.impallaria@house.state.md.us; jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; mary.dulany.james@house.state.md.us; sally.jameson@house.state.md.us; adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us; a.wade.kach@house.state.md.us; anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us; ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us; kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us; nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us; benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us; susan.krebs@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; susan.lee@house.state.md.us; maryann.love@house.state.md.us; eric.luedtke@house.state.md.us; james.malone@house.state.md.us; susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us; tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us; mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us; pat.mcdonough@house.state.md.us; brian.mchale@house.state.md.us; maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us; herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us; aruna.miller@house.state.md.us; warren.miller@house.state.md.us; joseph.minnick@house.state.md.us; keiffer.mitchell@house.state.md.us; heather.mizeur@house.state.md.us; dan.morhaim@house.state.md.us; peter.murphy@house.state.md.us; leroy.myers@house.state.md.us; shirley.nathan.pulliam@house.state.md.us; doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us; wayne.norman@house.state.md.us; nathaniel.oaks@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; john.olszewski@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; neil.parrott@house.state.md.us; joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us; shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us; james.proctor@house.state.md.us; justin.ready@house.state.md.us; kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us; barbara.robinson@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us; david.rudolph@house.state.md.us; steve.schuh@house.state.md.us; kelly.schulz@house.state.md.us; andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us; luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us; michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us; ted.sophocleus@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; donna.stifler@house.state.md.us; nancy.stocksdale@house.state.md.us; melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us; michael.summers@house.state.md.us; darren.swain@house.state.md.us; kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us; shawn.tarrant@house.state.md.us; frank.turner@house.state.md.us; veronica.turner@house.state.md.us; kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us; geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us; joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us; michael.vaughn@house.state.md.us; michael.vaughn@house.state.md.us; jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us; jay.walker@house.state.md.us; alonzo.washington@house.state.md.us; mary.washington@house.state.md.us; michael.weir@house.state.md.us; ct.wilson@house.state.md.us; john.wood@house.state.md.us; craig.zucker@house.state.md.us

COMMENT