WI hobbyists needed for support of pro-hobbyist bill by Feb. 9

Angelo Van Bogart |

Reader Tom Zat alerted us to the fact that a Wisconsin state senator is seeking support for a pro-hobbyist bill that would enact proposed legislation to keep the DMV from removing what it terms “non-standard” vehicles from Wisconsin roads. (“Non-standard” means several things to the DMV, such as pre-FMVSS vehicles, cars not having a 17-digit VIN, imports, kit cars, hot rods, etc.)

Below are instructions for showing your support for this bill. Just copy and paste the information below and send it to your legislators. Senator Grothman has introduced this bill and has a call for legislators to sign on by this Thursday, Feb. 9th. If everyone tells their legislators to support the bill, it will truly help, so e-mail your legislators — and tell all your friends to do the same!

Here’s a quick way to contact your legislators:

Step 1: Copy and paste the following message, modified to your liking:

Dear Representative/Senator,

I am a constituent in your district with multiple collector vehicles that I display at many community-benefitting events. I support the Vehicle Registration Rights Act introduced by Senator Grothman. I hope you will co-sponsor Senator Grothman in LRB 3267/1 and further support pro-hobbyist legislation.

Sincerely,
Your name and address

Step 2: Find the e-mail of your assemblyman and senator with this link:

http://legis.wisconsin.gov/w3asp/waml/waml.aspx

Enter your legislators’ e-mails in the “To” box.

Step 3: Copy the senate and assembly transportation committees by copying and pasting the following e-mail list:

Sen.Coggs@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Lasee@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Leibham@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petrowski@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Farrow@legis.wi.gov; Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Stone@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.VanRoy@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Honadel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ripp@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Endsley@legis.wi.gov; Rep.Knilans@legis.wi.gov; Rep.Steinbrink@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Vruwink@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.BernardSchaber@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jorgensen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bewley@legis.wi.gov; Rep.Coggs@legis.wi.gov

Step 4: Click send!

More information on the Vehicle Registration Rights Act

LRB 3267/1 is a bill being introduced into the Wisconsin Legislature to protect your right to drive the vehicle of your choice.

To support the bill, enthusiasts must e-mail, write, or phone their respective state senator and representative plus members of the transportation committee and voice your support.

Make sure you say:         “I am your constituent”
“I agree with the Vehicle Registration Rights Act ”
“I want you to co-sponsor LRB 3267/1″

Carbon copy members of the Senate transportation committee and the Assembly Committee on Transportation. (Follow the links provided.)

Keep your note short and sweet, and do it now. Our hobby depends on you.

Click this link to find your legislators: http://legis.wisconsin.gov/w3asp/waml/waml.aspx

Forward this email to all of your friends and family and ask them to do the same. This is just the first step. We will need your continued support throughout the process.
The Registration Rights Act Accomplishes the Following:

1. Repeals a state statute which contains an obsolete reference in law, and has created confusion and misapplication.
2. Repeals a statute which has removed legally complying vehicles from the highway.
3. Gives residents the ability to have second chance if the DOT denies registration.  An owner can have their vehicle locally inspected to make sure they comply with WI safety standards and in turn can have their vehicle registered.
4. Allows minor modifications to vehicles registered as collector.
5. Reduces fiscal impact by the citizen bearing the cost of an inspection versus the state employees expending substantial time and resources to determine eligibility.
6. Prevents monetary losses to citizens encountered when a formerly legal vehicle is reduced to non-highway-legal status for the sake of clerical convenience within the department.

You can read the bill and the supporting information at:  http://www.alfaheaven.com

If you would like to speak with someone regarding this legislation, please call or email
Paul Underwood  email: undy@mhtc.net    phone:  608-437-3465

Tom Zat email: cosmo@alfaheaven.com    phone: 715-449-2141 weekdays.
To get added to our existing email notification system, please send an email to the following address: MVRegistrationRights@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply