Winners in Des Moines

Isenphoto_874Des Moines Concours d’Elegance Announces Winners

Large field of cars, beautiful location provide excellent show for large audience Des Moines, Iowa (September 20, 2015) – The Des Moines Concours d’Elegance today announced its winners of its annual Concours held September 12-13. Best of Show honors went to a 1930 Cord L-29 Cabriolet owned by Jeff Schriener of Mondovi, Wisconsin. Mr. Schriener’s L-29, which also won First in Class in the Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Class, has undergonean exhaustive and fully documented restoration that was completed in 2014.
The Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg class featured a dozen examples from the three manufacturers, including two Duesenberg Model Js, a very recent “barn find” 1936 Cord Westchester Sedan, and a Mason Model 12Touring and Truck. Fred and August Duesenberg got their start building automobiles with Mason in DesMoines, and later began building race cars in the city.Isenphoto_855Class Winners
The complete list of class winners for the 2015 Des Moines Concours includes:

  • Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Class: 1930 Cord L-29 Cabriolet, Jeff Schriener, Mondovi,
  • WI Antiques Class: 1904 Sandusky Courier, Vicky Anderson, Kanawha, IA
  • Classics Class: 1937 Lincoln K Coupe body by LeBaron, Tom Brace, St. Paul, MN
  • Collectibles Class (Early): 1954 Kaiser Darrin Convertible, Dennis Koch, Quincy, IL
  • Collectibles Class (Late): 1956 Cadillac Biarritz Convertible, Les Pederson, Dakota Dunes, SD
  • Exotics Class: 2013 Ferrari 458 Spyder, Stephen Grubb, Des Moines, IA
  • Factory-Built Performance Automobiles Class: 1968 AMC AMX 390,
    Jerry and Barb Hollom, Minneapolis, MN
  • Vintage Motorcycles: 1946 Indian Chief Roadmaster, Gary and Jane Dodge, Des Moines, IA
  • Survivor Cars Class: 1932 Chevrolet Special Sedan, David and Carol Baker, Kenyon, MN
  • Race Cars Class: 1917 Hudson Super Six Dirt Track Speedster,
    Thomas and Victoria Knight, Hiawatha, IA
  • The Little Cars Class: 1939 American Bantam Model 60 Deluxe Roadster,
    David and Connie Schreurs, Oostburg, WI
  • Honorable Mention: 1909 Mason Model 12 Touring and Truck, Richard Lichtfeld, Monona, WI
  • People’s Choice: 1976 Porsche Turbo Carrera Coupe, Douglas and Darcey Schulte, Cumming, IA
  • Hagerty Youth Judging: 2013 Ferrari 458 Italia, John Burgeson, Des Moines, IA
  • In addition to the judged showfield, the Des Moines Concours included a display of Iowa State Patrol vehicles from 1935 to 2014, and three “Star Cars”. The Star Cars including a 1912 Packard Touring Bus



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.