Washington street rod, custom vehicle bill moves to house

Author:
Publish date:

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)

Washington Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Approved by Rules Committee; Moves Next to Vote by Full House

We’re almost there! SEMA model legislation to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles was approved by the House Rules Committee. The bill will now be considered on the floor for a vote by all House members. The measure has already been approved by the Washington Senate. The bill (S.B. 5585) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 30 years old and manufactured after 1948. Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.

We Urge You to Contact All Washington House Members (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 5585

• S.B. 5585 provides specific registration and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas.
• S.B. 5585 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
• S.B. 5585 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.
• S.B. 5585 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.
• S.B. 5585 permits the use of blue dot taillights.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact all members of the Washington House to request their support for S.B. 5585.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Washington House of Representatives
To email all members of the Washington House of Representatives, copy and paste the email address block below:

john.ahern@leg.wa.gov; gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov; glenn.anderson@leg.wa.gov; jan.angel@leg.wa.gov; sherry.appleton@leg.wa.gov; mike.armstrong@leg.wa.gov; katrina.asay@leg.wa.gov; barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov; andy.billig@leg.wa.gov; brian.blake@leg.wa.gov; vincent.buys@leg.wa.gov; reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov; bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov; frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov; judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov; eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov; cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov; larry.crouse@leg.wa.gov; cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov; bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov; j.darneille@leg.wa.gov; richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov; marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov; hans.dunshee@leg.wa.gov;
deborah.eddy@leg.wa.gov; susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov; fred.finn@leg.wa.gov; joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov; david.frockt@leg.wa.gov; roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov; tami.green@leg.wa.gov; kathy.haigh@leg.wa.gov; larry.haler@leg.wa.gov; mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov; paul.harris@leg.wa.gov; bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov; bill.hinkle@leg.wa.gov; mike.hope@leg.wa.gov; zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov; sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov; ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov; christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov; laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov; norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov; ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov; troy.kelley@leg.wa.gov; phyllis.kenney@leg.wa.gov; steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov; brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov; joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov; dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov; connie.ladenburg@leg.wa.gov; marko.liias@leg.wa.gov; kristine.lytton@leg.wa.gov; marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov; john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov; jim.mccune@leg.wa.gov; mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov; jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov; jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov; luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov; terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov; ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov; timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov; tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov; jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov; kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov; kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov; jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov; eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov; tim.probst@leg.wa.gov; chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov; ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov; maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov; jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov; christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov; charles.ross@leg.wa.gov; cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov; sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov; joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov; larry.seaquist@leg.wa.gov; mike.sells@leg.wa.gov; matt.shea@leg.wa.gov; shelly.short@leg.wa.gov; norma.smith@leg.wa.gov; larry.springer@leg.wa.gov; derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov; pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov; dean.takko@leg.wa.gov; david.taylor@leg.wa.gov; steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov; dave.upthegrove@leg.wa.gov; kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov; maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov; judy.warnick@leg.wa.gov; jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov; hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov

Representative John Ahern
Phone: 360/786-7962
Email: john.ahern@leg.wa.gov

Representative Gary Alexander
Phone: 360/786-7990
Email: gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov

Representative Glenn Anderson
Phone: 360/786-7876
Email: glenn.anderson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jan Angel
Phone: 360/786-7964
Email: jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Representative Sherry Appleton
Phone: 360/786-7934
Email: sherry.appleton@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Armstrong
Phone: 360/786-7832
Email: mike.armstrong@leg.wa.gov

Representative Katrina Asay
Phone: 360/786-7830
Email: katrina.asay@leg.wa.gov

Representative Barbara Bailey
Phone: 360/786-7914
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Andy Billig
Phone: 360/786-7888
Email: andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brian Blake
Phone: 360/786-7870
Email: brian.blake@leg.wa.gov

Representative Vincent Buys
Phone: 360/786-7854
Email: vincent.buys@leg.wa.gov

Representative Reuven Carlyle
Phone: 360/786-7814
Email: reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Chandler
Phone: 360/786-7960
Email: bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Frank Chopp
Phone: 360/786-7920
Email: frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ju
dy Clibborn
Phone: 360/786-7926
Email: judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Eileen Cody
Phone: 360/786-7978
Email: eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cary Condotta
Phone: 360/786-7954
Email: cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Crouse
Phone: 360/786-7820
Email: larry.crouse@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cathy Dahlquist
Phone: 360/786-7846
Email: cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Dammeier
Phone: 360/786-7948
Email: bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeannie Darneille
Phone: 360/786-7974
Email: j.darneille@leg.wa.gov

Representative Richard DeBolt
Phone: 360/786-7896
Email: richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Lou Dickerson
Phone: 360/786-7860
Email: marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Hans Dunshee
Phone: 360/786-7804
Email: hans.dunshee@leg.wa.gov

Representative Deb Eddy
Phone: 360/786-7848
Email: deborah.eddy@leg.wa.gov

Representative Susan Fagan
Phone: 360/786-7942
Email: susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

Representative Fred Finn
Phone: 360/786-7902
Email: fred.finn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon
Phone: 360/786-7952
Email: joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Representative David Frockt
Phone: 360/786-7886
Email: david.frockt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Roger Goodman
Phone: 360/786-7878
Email: roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tami Green
Phone: 360/786-7958
Email: tami.green@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kathy Haigh
Phone: 360/786-7966
Email: kathy.haigh@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Haler
Phone: 360/786-7986
Email: larry.haler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Hargrove
Phone: 360/786-7918
Email: mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Paul Harris
Phone: 360/786-7976
Email: paul.harris@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bob Hasegawa
Phone: 360/786-7862
Email: bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bill Hinkle
Phone: 360/786-7808
Email: bill.hinkle@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Hope
Phone: 360/786-7892
Email: mike.hope@leg.wa.gov

Representative Zack Hudgins
Phone: 360/786-7956
Email: zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Sam Hunt
Phone: 360/786-7992
Email: sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ross Hunter
Phone: 360/786-7936
Email: ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov

Representative Christopher Hurst
Phone: 360/786-7866
Email: christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov

Representative Laurie Jinkins
Phone: 360/786-7930
Email: laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Norm Johnson
Phone: 360/786-7810
Email: norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ruth Kagi
Phone: 360/786-7910
Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

Representative Troy Kelley
Phone: 360/786-7890
Email: troy.kelley@leg.wa.gov

Representative Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney
Phone: 360/786-7818
Email: phyllis.kenney@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Kirby  
;
Phone: 360/786-7996
Email: steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert
Phone: 360/786-7882
Email: brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joel Kretz
Phone: 360/786-7988
Email: joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dan Kristiansen
Phone: 360/786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Connie Ladenburg
Phone: 360/786-7906
Email: connie.ladenburg@leg.wa.gov

Representative Marko Liias
Phone: 360/786-7972
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kristine Lytton
Phone: 360/786-7800
Email: kristine.lytton@leg.wa.gov

Representative Marcie Maxwell
Phone: 360/786-7894
Email: marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

Representative John McCoy
Phone: 360/786-7864
Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim McCune
Phone: 360/786-7824
Email: jim.mccune@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Miloscia
Phone: 360/786-7898
Email: mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim Moeller
Phone: 360/786-7872
Email: jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeff Morris
Phone: 360/786-7970
Email: jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov

Representative Luis Moscoso
Phone: 360/786-7900
Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

Representative Terry Nealey
Phone: 360/786-7828
Email: terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ed Orcutt
Phone: 360/786-7812
Email: ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Timm Ormsby
Phone: 360/786-7946
Email: timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tina Orwall
Phone: 360/786-7834
Email: tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jason Overstreet
Phone: 360/786-7980
Email: jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kevin Parker
Phone: 360/786-7922
Email: kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kirk Pearson
Phone: 360/786-7816
Email: kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jamie Pedersen
Phone: 360/786-7826
Email: jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Eric Pettigrew
Phone: 360/786-7838
Email: eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tim Probst
Phone: 360/786-7994
Email: tim.probst@leg.wa.gov

Representative Chris Reykdal
Phone: 360/786-7940
Email: chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers
Phone: 360/786-7850
Email: ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Helen Roberts
Phone: 360/786-7950
Email: maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne
Phone: 360/786-7852
Email: jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Christine Rolfes
Phone: 360/786-7842
Email: christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Representative Charles Ross
Phone: 360/786-7856
Email: charles.ross@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cindy Ryu
Phone: 360/786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos
Phone: 360/786-7944
Email: sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Schmick
Phone: 360/786-7844
Email: joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Seaquist
Phone: 360/786-7802
Email: larry.seaquist@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Sells

Phone: 360/786-7840
Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea
Phone: 360/786-7984
Email: matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Representative Shelly Short
Phone: 360/786-7908
Email: shelly.short@leg.wa.gov

Representative Norma Smith
Phone: 360/786-7884
Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Springer
Phone: 360/786-7822
Email: larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

Representative Derek Stanford
Phone: 360/786-7928
Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

Representative Pat Sullivan
Phone: 360/786-7858
Email: pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dean Takko
Phone: 360/786-7806
Email: dean.takko@leg.wa.gov

Representative David Taylor
Phone: 360/786-7874
Email: david.taylor@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Tharinger
Phone: 360/786-7904
Email: steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dave Upthegrove
Phone: 360/786-7868
Email: dave.upthegrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kevin Van De Wege
Phone: 360/786-7916
Email: kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

Representative Maureen Walsh
Phone: 360/786-7836
Email: maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov

Representative Judy Warnick
Phone: 360/786-7932
Email: judy.warnick@leg.wa.gov

Representative J.T. Wilcox
Phone: 360/786-7912
Email: jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

Representative Hans Zeiger
Phone: 360/786-7968
Email: hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov

Where to Bid