Under The Hood

Maryland bill would restrict eligibility for historic vehicle registration


Maryland Introduces Bill to Restrict Eligibility for Historic Vehicle Registration; Committee Hearing Scheduled for Tues., Feb. 28

Legislation (H.B. 550) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “historic motor vehicles” has been introduced in the Maryland Legislature.  Under the bill, the age requirement would be raised from 20 to at least 25 years old and would prohibit these cars from being used for “occasional transportation.”  The measure would also require that an historic vehicle is insured by an historic vehicle, show vehicle or antique insurance policy.  A hearing to consider the bill is scheduled for Tuesday, February 28, 2012 in the Environmental Matters Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 550

·         H.B. 550 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles, which are now already limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.

·         H.B. 550 makes no provision for “grandfathering” existing historic vehicles 20-25 years old and allowing them to retain their historic status.

·         H.B. 550 would deny vehicles 20-25 years old from existing benefits, including the special historic license plate and exemptions from equipment and emissions inspection requirements.

H.B. 550 ignores the fact that existing historic vehicles in Maryland constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are already well-maintained and infrequently operated.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 550.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all members of the Maryland House Environmental Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:
Maggie.McIntosh@house.state.md.us; Malone@house.state.md.us; Herb.McMillan@house.state.md.us; Pamela.Beidle@house.state.md.us; Stephen.Lafferty@house.state.md.us; Rudolph.Cane@house.state.md.us; Doyle.Niemann@house.state.md.us; Alfred.Carr@house.state.md.us; Wayne.Norman@house.state.md.us; Barbara.Frush@house.state.md.us; Anthony.ODonnell@house.state.md.us; Jim.Gilchrist@house.state.md.us; Charles.Otto@house.state.md.us; Cheryl.Glenn@house.state.md.us; Shane.Robinson@house.state.md.us; Anne.Healey@house.state.md.us; Dana.Stein@house.state.md.us; Patrick.Hogan@house.state.md.us; Cathy.Vitale@house.state.md.us; Marvin.Holmes@house.state.md.us; Michael.Weir@house.state.md.us; Jay.Jacobs@house.state.md.us; CT.Wilson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Email: Maggie.McIntosh@house.state.md.us

Delegate James E. Malone, Jr.  (Vice Chair)
Email: James.Malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela G. Beidle
Email: Pamela.Beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty
Email: Stephen.Lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Email: Elizabeth.Bobo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Herb McMillan
Email: Herb.McMillan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Rudolph C. Cane
Email: Rudolph.Cane@house.state.md.us

Delegate Doyle L. Niemann
Email: Doyle.Niemann@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr.
Email: Alfred.Carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Wayne Norman, Jr.
Email: Wayne.Norman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara A. Frush
Email: Barbara.Frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony J. O’Donnell
Email: Anthony.ODonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate James W. Gilchrist
Email: Jim.Gilchrist@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles J. Otto
Email: Charles.Otto@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn
Email: Cheryl.Glenn@house.state.md.us

Delegate Shane Robinson
Email: Shane.Robinson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey
Email: Anne.Healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana M. Stein
Email: Dana.Stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate Patrick Hogan
Email: Patrick.Hogan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cathleen M. Vitale
Email: Cathy.Vitale@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.
Email: Marvin.Holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr.
Email: Michael.Weir@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jay A. Jacobs
Email: Jay.Jacobs@house.state.md.us

Delegate C. T. Wilson
Email: CT.Wilson@house.state.md.us

2 thoughts on “Maryland bill would restrict eligibility for historic vehicle registration


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.