Skip to main content
Publish date:

Nevada Exempts Hobby Cars from Emissions Tests

SEMA ACTION NETWORK LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

Nevada legislation (A.B. 2) to exempt classic vehicles and classic rods from emissions inspections if owners pay a one-time $6 fee and submit a certification that their vehicle will not be driven more than 5,000 miles per year was signed into law by Governor Brian Sandoval. Under previous law, classic rods and classic vehicles were subject to a 2,500 mile per year limit to qualify for an emissions exemption and had to pass an initial two-speed idle emissions inspection to qualify. Also, each year the owners of classic rods and classic vehicles were required to certify that their vehicles had not been driven more than 2,500 miles during the previous year and the certification had to be verified by a DMV emissions technician. Under the new law, the initial emissions inspection is no longer required.

Thank you and congratulations to all who participated in supporting this bill!

Where to Bid

Car Auciton

Check out the Old Cars Auction Calendar

The Old Cars Auction Calendar has the when and where you are looking for when it comes to classic car auctions.