North Dakota bill to restrict vehicle mods amended

Author:
Publish date:

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

North Dakota Bill to Restrict Vehicle Modifications Amended and Approved by Transportation Committee; Still Makes No Sense

A bill (H.B. 1442) in the North Dakota State Legislature to prohibit the modification of any motor vehicle that alters the manufacturer's original suspension, steering or brake system has been amended and approved by the House Transportation Committee. While the bill deletes much of the original language, H.B. 1442 retains a provision that requires modifying equipment to meet National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards in order to be legal for use in North Dakota. The bill will next be considered by the full House of Representatives.

We Urge You to Contact the Full North Dakota House of Representatives (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1442

This bill still makes no sense! The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) only issues standards to regulate equipment that is required on all new motor vehicles. It does not regulate “modifying equipment” unless it takes a vehicle out-of-compliance with a required piece of safety equipment when installed. For example, lift kits used to modify ride height for function and utility are not specifically regulated by NHTSA.
How can North Dakota motorists be expected to comply with standards that do not exist?
DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the North Dakota House of Representatives immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 1442.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. Thank you for your assistance.

North Dakota House of Representatives

Representative Corey Mock
Email: crmock@nd.gov

Representative Dan Ruby
Email: druby@nd.gov

Representative Kenton Onstad
Email: konstad@nd.gov

Representative David Monson
Email: dmonson@nd.gov

Representative Phillip Mueller
Email: pmueller@nd.gov

Representative Shirley Meyer
Email: sjmeyer@nd.gov

Representative Michael Nathe
Email: mrnathe@nd.gov

Representative Jon Nelson
Email: jonelson@nd.gov

Representative Vonnie Pietsch
Email: vpietsch@nd.gov

Representative Mike Schatz
Email: mischatz@nd.gov

Representative Todd Porter
Email: tkporter@nd.gov

Representative David Rust
Email: drust@nd.gov

Representative Lawrence Klemin
Email: lklemin@nd.gov

Representative Bob Skarphol
Email: bskarphol@nd.gov

Representative Gary Sukut
Email: gsukut@nd.gov

Representative Chet Pollert
Email: cpollert@nd.gov

Representative Matthew Klein
Email: mklein@nd.gov

Representative Jim Kasper
Email: jkasper@nd.gov

Representative Thomas Beadle
Email: tbeadle@nd.gov

Representative Blair Thoreson
Email: bthoreson@nd.gov

Representative RaeAnn Kelsch
Email: rkelsch@nd.gov

Representative Scot Kelsh
Email: skelsh@nd.gov

Representative Keith Kempenich
Email: kkempenich@nd.gov

Representative Gary Kreidt
Email: gkreidt@nd.gov

Representative Joyce Kingsbury
Email: jkingsbury@nd.gov

Representative Ralph Metcalf
Email: rmetcalf@nd.gov

Representative Kim Koppelman
Email: kkoppelman@nd.gov

Representative George Keiser
Email: gkeiser@nd.gov

Representative William Kretschmar
Email: wkretschmar@nd.gov

Representative Joe Kroeber
Email: jkroeber@nd.gov

Representative Bob Martinson
Email: bmartinson@nd.gov

Representative Lisa Meier
Email: lmeier@nd.gov

Representative Robert Kilichowski
Email: rkilichowski@nd.gov

Representative Mark Sanford
Email: masanford@nd.gov

Representative Bill Devlin
Email: bdevlin@nd.gov

Representative Ron Guggisberg
Email: rguggisberg@nd.gov

Representative Joe Heilman
Email: jaheilman@nd.gov

Representative Marvin Nelson
Email: menelson@nd.gov

Representative Mark Owens
Email: mowens@nd.gov

Representative Karen Rohr
Email: kmrohr@nd.gov

Representative Jim Schmidt
Email: jeschmidt@nd.gov

Representative Wayne Trottier
Email: wtrottier@nd.gov

Representative Vicky Steiner
Email: vsteiner@nd.gov

Representative Roscoe Streyle
Email: rstreyle@nd.gov

Representative Karen Karls
Email: kkarls@nd.gov

Representative Gary Paur
Email: gpaur@nd.gov

Representative John Wall
Email: jwall@nd.gov

Representative Dave Weiler
Email: dweiler@nd.gov

Representative Clark Williams
Email: cdwilliams@nd.gov

Representative Lonny Winrich
Email: lbwinrich@nd.gov

Representative Dwight Wrangham
Email: dwrangham@nd.gov

Representative Steven Zaiser
Email: szaiser@nd.gov

Representative Roger Brabandt
Email: rbrabandt@nd.gov

Representative Dick Anderson
Email: dickanderson@nd.gov

Representative Don Vigesaa
Email: dwvigesaa@nd.gov

Representative Brenda Heller
Email: bheller@nd.gov

Representative Eliot Glassheim
Email: eglassheim@nd.gov

Representative Bette Grande
Email: bgrande@nd.gov

Representative Edmund Gruchalla
Email: egruchalla@nd.gov

Representative Lyle Hanson
Email: lhanson@n
d.gov

Representative Patrick Hatlestad
Email: phatlestad@nd.gov

Representative Robert Frantsvog
Email: rfrantsvog@nd.gov

Representative Craig Headland
Email: cheadland@nd.gov

Representative Chuck Damschen
Email: cdamschen@nd.gov

Representative David Drovdal
Email: ddrovdal@nd.gov

Representative Curt Hofstad
Email: chofstad@nd.gov

Representative Kathy Hogan
Email: khogan@nd.gov

Representative Richard Holman
Email: rholman@nd.gov

Representative Bob Hunskor
Email: bhunskor@nd.gov

Representative Dennis Johnson
Email: djohnson@nd.gov

Representative Nancy Johnson
Email: njohnson@nd.gov

Representative Kathy Hawken
Email: khawken@nd.gov

Representative Donald Clark
Email: donclark@nd.gov

Representative Bill Amerman
Email: bamerman@nd.gov

Representative Larry Bellew
Email: lbellew@nd.gov

Representative Wesley Belter
Email: wbelter@nd.gov

Representative Tracy Boe
Email: tboe@nd.gov

Representative Randy Boehning
Email: rboehning@nd.gov

Representative Mike Brandenburg
Email: mbrandenburg@nd.gov

Representative Glen Froseth
Email: gfroseth@nd.gov

Representative Al Carlson
Email: acarlson@nd.gov

Representative Lee Kaldor
Email: lakaldor@nd.gov

Representative Tom Conklin
Email: tconklin@nd.gov

Representative Stacey Dahl
Email: stdahl@nd.gov

Representative Duane DeKrey
Email: ddekrey@nd.gov

Representative Lois Delmore
Email: ldelmore@nd.gov

Representative Jeff Delzer
Email: jdelzer@nd.gov

Representative Mark Dosch
Email: mdosch@nd.gov

Representative Robin Weisz
Email: rweisz@nd.gov

Representative Alon Wieland
Email: awieland@nd.gov

Where to Bid

Car Auciton

Check out the Old Cars Auction Calendar

The Old Cars Auction Calendar has the when and where you are looking for when it comes to classic car auctions.